LAGOS...

in #travel6 years ago

Lagos.

There is this thing I do when I travel to places; I use colors to describe how those places make me feel or how I perceive them. Some states have official colors, sometimes seen on their taxis and buses or logos and other state articles but the vibe from those places clash with the colors forced on them.

_
I don’t know what the official color of Lagos is, but yellow fits it perfectly. For me, it will be two colors, yellow and grey. On one hand, there is an insane burst of energy and vibrancy about Lagos, but it is underlined by this gloomy tone, one I can’t really explain. It is inspiring as well as overwhelming at the same time. Personally, I am not sure I can survive here. I love the periodic visits but living here will drive me insane wallahi. My spirit animal is dove and dolphin, sometimes Zebra not tiger or shark. My spirit animals and I don't do well with traffic or constant noise and movement.😊 But this place is insane, good insane and I love it.

_
Today, I saw and passed by so many colonial buildings and historical structures. I wish I could have taken some pictures of those but I will do that tomorrow or Sunday, all things being equal. The architectural designs are just glorious. I love the St. George’s hall, the dusty pink and grey afro-Brazilian building (don’t know what it is called for now) that is along the old secretariat, and some other beautiful structures along Mandela Street. I need a tour guide, please.

_
This is a not-so-random question and maybe friends in the field of architecture or anyone versed with building styles could help me out. Do we have a Nigerian-architecture, one that is not necessarily influenced by the styles of other places? I would love to see what that is. I can easily spot a Greek architecture or an English Gothic structure and some other classical architecture but I don’t know if we have certain characteristics of a typical Nigerian architecture, one designed by us for us. I am sure we do but I don’t know it yet. I am finally voicing this out. Please help me with this if you know. Thank you in advance.

P.s. In these photos are 1. The very popular artsy Danfo bus. 2. The Cathedral Church of Christ, the first Anglican Cathedral in Sub-Saharan Africa and oh so beautiful and 3. The UAC building, a popular landmark like No. 2 in Lagos Island.

FB_IMG_1533597758692.jpg

FB_IMG_1533597776312.jpg

FB_IMG_1533597780948.jpg

_
I hope you have a lovely week ahead dear friends. Rest and have fun if you can. This world will go on without you, remember this please.

Photoshoot from my Infinix Camera

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85