Bergen, Norway

in #travel7 years ago

Untitled_Panorama1.jpg

Have you ever been to Norway? Have you been to Bergen? If not, then you absolutely must visit this place!

Bergen is such a beautiful, wonderful, and lovely city. As you walk through the city, you are completely surrounded by mountains and the sea. As you walk up to the top of the mountain, you have a gorgeous view of the city. No matter where you go, it's extraordinary.

I took the local hop on hop off bus there and toured around the city. The bus provides free WIFI, which is super convenient for looking up places and cool spots. Took the funicular up to the top of the mountain, and that is one of the most gorgeous views of my life. Absolutely incredible! Breathing in that fresh air, looking at a beautiful city, taking pictures, felt pretty awesome. It felt as if I had taken at least 1,000 pictures hahaha :)

I slowly walked down along the hiking path towards the city, and I was surprised at how many people there were walking up and down the mountain. Even school children taking hikes up to the mountain, and more children down the mountain. All playing around, jumping around from spot to spot, without the teachers or anyone yelling at them to be careful or whatsoever. It's a different culture mentality, a tough one, a strong one, one that many other cultures should follow. We live mainly in a society where others should think for you instead of learning from our own mistakes.

ND7_8337.jpg

As I got into the city, I was quite hungry and walked to the infamous market. They have fresh fish, vegetables, and few other delicacies. I opted for chips & fish and paid freaking €23! But it was totally worth it, as that must've been the best fish & chips of my life!

The city itself is very enjoyable to walk through. A lot of stores, restaurants, & parks. It gives off this cozy vibe, a warm welcome feeling. The people there seemed nice and friendly, and just like in any other Nordic country, everyone looked fabulous.

ND7_8354.jpg
ND7_8355.jpg
ND7_8383.jpg
ND7_8393.jpg

It was also quite cool to finally walk through Bryggen. I saw this place on many pictures and postcards before, but never did I really grasp the experience and the history of it.

Bryggen, also known as Tyskebryggen, is a series of Hanseatic commercial buildings lining the eastern side of the Vågen harbour in Bergen, Norway. Bryggen has since 1979 been on the UNESCO list for World Cultural Heritage sites.
-Wikipedia

ND7_8398.jpg

I'm an absolute fan of the Nordic countries. I definitely want to go visit them all again, take my time and get to know all of it. The Nordic countries are all so beautiful, and brilliant in terms of economy and governance. If you get the chance to go up north, then definitely do it. It's not that cold as people make it to be, or I might have been lucky, but I did hear that it does rain a lot.

Untitled_Panoram2a1.jpg

Sort:  

Interesting post! The photos are beautiful.

Thanks a lot :)

awesome post! I have been wanting to go to Bergen and Norway for a while now! looks beautiful. can't wait to go myself someday!

Awesome! Would be cool if you shared your experience. I love reading other peoples stories.

What an incredible place you got to visit. I have always wanted to go to Norway and Sweden and Finland lol and pretty much everywhere in Europe. It's incredible that children are just play up and down and all around on the mountain. I always hear how much ore relaxed people are over there compared to North America. I should move!

Indeed. Europe in general is an amazing continent. If you have the chance, you should definitely try an Inter Rail Trip through Europe. Not only is it cheap, but you will also see so many amazing places, so many beautiful cities, and get to meet so many cool people.

I'm an absolute fan of the Nordic Countries, the people there are very different from middle/western Europe. They are a lot more relaxed and much better looking ;)

I've always heard that back packing and taking the trains around Europe is the way to go. All the countries are super close together and there is always great places to go and see. I definitely have to make my way over there. I need to get to Germany first since I have family there and then I'm going EVERYWHERE!!!!!

Bergen, Norway is a city of 52 000 people, situated on the edge of a bay that was formed by glaciers at the end of the last Ice Age. I prefer to check this siding installation and get more new ways for siding services. The mountains surrounding Bergen are always beautiful but during winter, snow-capped peaks rise up from the city centre like so many icebergs on the waves of the ocean below.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52