How I learnt to mind my business in Lagos.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The summary of this in pidgin will be “Trouble dey sleep, yanga go wake am”

lagos.jpg

If you have ever been to Lagos or lived in Lagos then you may not even need to read this story - I assume you must have had your own share.

When this happened to me, I flashed back to the Bible story of "the Good Samaritan", then I thought he was lucky he wasn't in Lagos because two things could have happened, it's either he gets attacked by whoever attacked the injured man or people start accusing him of being the one that harmed the man - well, maybe none of the two would have happened and I am just paranoid because of my experience.

On that day, I was putting on a shirt with the inscription "I love chips" - I didn't know some other people must have read it as "I love slaps and punches".

i lovechips.jpg

Passing through "computer village" (a very popular place in Lagos where different computer software and hardware are sold - also one of the city's hotspot for hoodlums and fraudulent guys, hence, you must "shine your eyes" whenever you get there) - I went to put myself in a " who send me" concern.

computervillage.jpg

These two young ladies, NYSC members to be precise were in the "mouth of alligators" - they were about being duped by this set of street boys - I knew they were about being duped because I have fallen victim of the tactics being used on them. - I had the option of ignoring what they were passing through or try to help them out because they were youth Corp members and probably don't know how Lagos was.

"Baby girls" were surrounded by these hefty guys who will physically intimidate you when you have realized that you are a victim. -but I didn't still respect myself. I found my way in between them and tapped one of the ladies to come outside the circle, I immediately got a name for her, "Jennifer, wow, so you are serving in Lagos! Come let's talk" - it would have worked perfectly well! But it seems "Jennifer" thought I wanted to toast her ...she didn't understand the script I was acting on even while I was giving her signs that she and her friend are in trouble.

The next thing was one of the guys shouting from the crowd "hezz! You know the girl? “- I have already said "yes, she is my friend" but the unfortunate “Jennifer” quickly responded, I don’t know him oh!

Gbom! Gbam! Gbom - punch and slaps I received in less than a second.

The effect of the hits almost got me falling into the pan of a woman frying Akara - Remember what was written on my shirt? Such jinx.

akara1.JPG

Check my web post to find out the trick: http://www.miztaatabo.com.ng/how-i-learnt-to-mind-my-business-in-lagos/

I hope the "baby girls" learnt their lessons and I don't even feel sorry for them again -not after the free slaps and punches I received on their behalf.

Welcome to Lagos.

Sort:  

I know this in lagos, its really a surprising experience....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62768.63
ETH 2678.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56