On the Way to Keelung, Inside an Abandoned Goldmine...is the Largest Gold Bar in the World (Original Photography) - continued...

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Yup, the city in my last post was Keelung, which is totally, unambiguously, pronounced "Gee-Loh-ng". I looked it why it's called Keelung, and it turns out there's actually a long history of slight name changes to the famous port city. I would detail it here, but I started crying halfway through because it was so boring. Trust me, you're better off not knowing. But first, a few photos from the Toi Gold Museum, which also houses the largest bar of gold in the world.

The extreme density of gold is always surprising--both volumetrically and monetarily. So this bar, which looks like you could just hug like a football and run away happily ever after with, actually weighs about 550 pounds and is worth almost $10 million dollars at current prices.

There are two things I NEVER manage to convey through photography: steepness and crowdedness (not sure that's a word but you know what I mean). Hopefully there's some trick to it that I can just google. Until then, you'll have to trust me when I say that it was WAY more crowded than it looks. I've never been simultaneously so annoyed and aroused at the same time...

And I thought this last building was famous for some reason I couldn't think of. But I've tried looking it up and found nothing, so...i dunno, unless one of you out there recognizes it from something, I'll have to concede to experiencing temporary bouts of delusion. Anyway, thanks for looking!

Sort:  

the only things missing are the sounds and smells.
cool post, thank you.

glad you liked it! I'm looking forward to your post with the diamond podcast.

o yea man, your last post on the quadrivium was DENSE. it was impossible to understand/retain anything when i was multitasking.

still, totally appreciate the content you bring :)

i'm still learning too. if there is anything i can help elucidate, it helps me learn when i try to explain.

the peace revolution podcast is the best. thanks for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63