Living in the Desert! No Luxury, but Kitesurfing and Nature...

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hola Amigos,

today I would like to show you around in Cabo de la Vela, Guaira, Colombia. Cabo is in the very North of Colombia and is the home of the Wayuu, the indigenous People of Colombia.

playa5.jpg

It is an awesome quite Place where you basicly get Desert, Ocean and a lot of Wind. What makes it to one of the Best Kite Spots in the World. Usually more than 20 Knots throug the whole Year. If you Kite, than you know what I mean. Thats terrific.

kitesunset2.jpg

But let's start from the beginning.

When I arrived in Cartagena, Colombia with my 60kg Luggage. Most of it Kitesurf Equippment. So I had to figure out how to get, with my little Things, very far into the Desert, without spending a lot of Money.

Lucky me, my Friend google told me:"There is public Transport and with no spanish it's quite hard to come up there."

Ok, the Route was a little bit confusing, but I thougt anyhow. It will work.

The only Problem is: "I do not speak any Spanish!" but I thought there will be tourist to help me out.

I had to go 4 hours by Bus to Riohacha, than take a Collectivo (kind of privit Cab) 30 minutes tu Uribia and from there on the back of a Pick Up for another 2,5 hours. So I started early.

I tried to explain the Busdriver that I need to go out in Riohacha and if he could let me know, when to get out and where to find my Collectivo.

Ja, he didn't. I woke up and was somewhere in the Desert, badly, because google told me that I already passt Riohacha and I m on my way to Venezuela. I thougt: "Nice, what the F...".

desert.jpg

After a nice Confersation with the Driver, where I didn't get any Information apart from I have to get out on the next stop.
It was called "quattro via" what basicly means "street Corner" and yes, that's what it is.

quattro via.JPG

In the End, I was so lucky I found somebody speaking a little bit english and got a straight Ride to Cabo. So in the End I made a shortcut, by Accident.

4x4.JPG

Finaly in Cabo I found myself a nice Place to sleep in a Kite School. The Accomodation was quite simple, a big Chinchorro (Hammok) in Front of the Beach without Roof. No fluent Water, Energy only from 6:00 pm till 10:00 pm.

I loved it. And celebrated with a fresh Lobster and a Beer.

food.JPG

And I didn't miss my TV.

sunset.JPG

First Thing in the morning, yes Kitesurfing...

mekite.jpg

kite3.jpg

Now Time for Sightseeing.

cabo city3.jpg

cabo city.jpg

me1.JPG

wayuu.JPG

A lot of the Wayuu make Mochillas (Shoulder Bags) by Hand, one of them takes up tu one week to be finished.

wayuumochilla.jpg

They aree very robust and the Colors are fantastic.

wayuu2.JPG

As I told you, Cabo is in te Desert and it usually doesn't rain, but we had Hurricane Season. :)
So I moved into a liittle Hut.

watercabo3.JPG

At least it was save from the Rain, but...

watercabo.JPG

There was some Water on the Floor...

watercabo2.JPG

And the Water and the Rain stayed for a couple of Weeks...

watercabo1.JPG

We waited for Wind

me3.JPG

still waiting...

me.JPG

Every Evening an incredible Sunset!

playa2.jpg

Playing with the Kids...

ninos.JPG

Sadly I could not take a good Picture of the Sky in the Night, but believe me: "to wake up in the Night and look in the Stars. I have been never more Happy about waking up in the middle of the Night."

And then the Wind come back... even stronger :)

mekite2.jpg

And last, but not least, First Time of my Life - a Rainbow in a Circle. WOW

rainbow.JPG

Thanks and have a good Time.
Daniel

Sort:  

Just found your article randomly. I just been in cabo de la vela as well😋 was awesome but the Chinchorros are tough after kite surfing. Did you check out the other spots as well on the coast? There are some nice ones, greets from Salinas del Rey and Austria

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41