Holm's Europe bike tour #8 (valleys of Slovenia; a beautiful story about a man and a flower)

in #travel7 years ago

A tale about a man, a flower and a river so beautiful I could not believe it, a very interesting day i would like to share with fellow people:
IMG_20170608_152819.jpg
This is the valley I'm about to roll down into and I think the first 25 km of the day went mostly down hill, it was awesome and full of small secrets I did not know about.
IMG_20170609_101131.jpg
While I could rest most of the time, my bike had to work a little harder: With sharp turns, narrow roads and a down hill on 14% I had to hold the breaks most of the way down. Lucky it feels like my bike is tough as a tank so I did not worry if it could make the task! So far it have taken me through a lot of weird roads I accidently got into such as these:
IMG_20170605_184958.jpg

IMG_20170511_114557.jpg

IMG_20170525_171524.jpg
But my bike have not complained so far, nothing have broken, no punctures... It just keeps going while I try to keep up.

Anyways, back to the valleys! IMG_20170609_101956.jpg

IMG_20170609_101755.jpg

a story about a man who never found his flower

I came by this guy and was wondering what he was all about, I mean since they made a statue of him he most have been somewhat important?

It turns out he was a famous mountaineer to Explorer the rural mountains that I'm now biking. his initial motivation was to find a specific flower but he never found it. Instead he fell in love with the beauty of the mountains, that he committed his whole life exploring.
I was told he died in one of his expeditions but I have no way to confirm this, except the word of a local!
IMG_20170609_101851.jpg
A cool detail i noticed was how they made the statue. He have his hands positioned so you can put fresh flowers into his left hand, while he slightly have his head turned, gazing onto the highest snow peaks in the distance.
While I did not understand all of the story I think it was a cool and interesting figure to come by and worth sharing

Soca; probably the most beautiful river in Europe?

I was told by a lot of people about this river. Apparently they all agreed on its something very special. One called it Europe's Carrabiean river. Another man said he thinks it's the most beautiful river in Europa, if not the world.
IMG_20170609_121004.jpg

IMG_20170609_120158.jpg

IMG_20170609_113411.jpg

It was so beautiful, so clean and I think it's one of the few times where some small editing of the picture not really was necessary. (I like to edit my pictures to reflect the closest to what I see with my own eyes)

IMG_20170609_120434.jpg

The river is called Soca and if you ever come to Slovenia, please go check it out. I almost suspected a artist sitting on top of the mountain throwing colors into the river.

A country where the nature is respected

Imagine being the man I talked about before, seeing wonders like this river and much more for the first time, beautiful and unspoiled. Even now you can see how much the nature is respected. I have not yet to see any trash whatsoever on the ground. Everything is so clean it's mind blowing compared to the decent amount of people coming to this part of Slovenia. It's nowhere near crowded but still a very surprising achievement I think.

Slovenia is truly amazing and I can only recommend you go see it for yourself someday, descriptions and pictures don't justify the true beauty of this country. It have to be seen and felt with your own mind and body

Holm

Sort:  

That is what I call great nature!

By far the most beautiful I have been through on the tour so far!

I'm so jealous. Haha Loving these photos!

1 - 1 then! I was just as jealous on the beers of yours! Haha:)

@holm I hope you the best at your steemit tour. If you happen to be at Athens by any chance. I will see it, if you steemit.

Thanks a lot man! I will actually be staying south of Athens for two months when I eventually get there to do some volunteer work and Explorer the country! Cheers!

Very nice. Upped and following! :)

Thank you velimir! :)

Beautiful pictures and story! And what an amazing river, we have to go there and our bikeskills are good enough I guess cause we are from Holland ;-)

I have heard Hollands hills should be good practice, hahaha:) that's how it is for us who live in flat lands, hard to prepare for those damn mountains :)

majestic mountains and a bike... fantastic

The bike does all the heavy work and carries my fat ass :)) haha

That water is almost clear aquamarine...crystal clear.

Yes its amazing, never seen anything like that before, you should go see it!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48