Exploration of Romania: How I found the greatest lesson on a local blackberry farm built by a single man

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

38686873_2205707219644076_6715532038490816512_n.jpg

As a part of my journey throughout the world, this weekend my girlfriend and I went to a blackberry farm build by a single man. I want to tell you a story about these amazing days where we went into the countryside of Romania to meet a family who made their life possible despite the harshest conditions. This blackberry farm is not just an ordinary farm, it has a story and good people behind it who created something I find truly inspiring


We met in a small village, but of course some local made bread had to come along


Before driving to the blackberry farm the guy.. let's call him Florin, came to pick us up by a nearby village where we would head into the countryside. But of course, some bread along the way from a small local baker would be in its place. So we got to a wonderful small bakery where there was standing a woman preparing both the oven with firewood and the bread besides. She told us in Romanian we got just in time for the bread and I could not agree more on that.

When she handed the two "pieces" of bread to my girlfriend, she could barely carry it. The bread smelled so fresh and it was dense, heavy and very warm.

38857360_2197740970297976_4343102132652605440_n.jpg

We ended up eating a little bit of the bread while driving towards the blackberry farm. It is kind of a custom never to wait with the food in Romania, they always seem to want to snack it on the way.

The road was bumpy as we got off track and eventually arrived at the blackberry farm.


From the village (that by the way also were way out on the countryside) we drove about 15 minutes until we went off the paved road and started to drive on tracks that looked quite challenging to be driving in. Luckily it was clear that Florin seemed to be able to drive these tracks with closed eyes if he wanted to. He has been driving this road for the past 4 years since he started his blackberry farm.

38750948_685637761774026_2606102588034121728_n.jpg

Throughout the two days we stayed there, I think we ate more blackberries than I have been eating in a year

It was amazing to see the size of the blackberry farm and it was way bigger than I would expect. Of course, it isn't like one of those big industrial farms. But when you realized that it was merely built by one man you could not help but be impressed by the amount of work Florin most of put into this place. It almost felt like if you started picking all the blackberries from one side of the farm, it would have grown back by the time you would have reached the end. Oh did I mention they are all organic and Florin was dedicated to only use natural resources to grow his plants?

38689030_351427685396507_9007038485525168128_n.jpg
38702085_448851088962937_1804564151893229568_n.jpg


A blackberry farm created by the kindest people


It was truly a pleasure to meet both Florin, his wife and their kids. All of them seemed full of positive energy and it was incredible to see how available they were to each other. You could see they how they enjoyed the primitive surroundings this place were offering them and enjoyed life together. More guests also came and we ended up eating all day long from the BBQ.

Before they build their blackberry farm the purpose of the land he had brought was to create a community. Sadly because of legal problems the land only could be rented and not brought. Because of that people were not ready to commit given the risk that the state could take the land back any day if they wish to do so. So Florin decided to build his blueberry farm instead and if I remember correctly, it took him two years to get where he is today.


38698749_683878348629426_4876783859636633600_n.jpg

On the hill the blackberry farm was located, you had the most excellent view for sunsets


Even with recent painful events, this place seems almost healing to the family and those who visit it.


There's something special about this place, the way you could feel how much energy was put into it. The solitary feeling of being away from all the noise of cities and watch the sunset slowly descent on the horizon as the blackberry farm started to faith into darkness and the stars above started to shine. It made you realize why this man put so much energy into this place and why the family loves it so much.

These good people have been through some tragic events merely months before I arrived. But I could not see their sorrow nor their pain. It made me wonder how important a place like this is for them. A place they can say is theirs. A place where no one else will be but the people they love and the area they created with their own hands.

If you choose one path and put all your energy into it, you can make incredible things happen


We as people can make the most magical things happen if we put our heart and soul into it and I believe this "Florin" proved me of this. Sometimes you just have to realize what it is you truly want and then go all in on it, don't stop until you have reached your goal.

I would never have Imagined going to a blackberry farm would warm my heart and give me inspiration in my own life.. but it did.

-holm

Sort:  

Wow, simply lovely couple on a trip 😍

Oh man I love these real, heart-warming stories about people who decided to beats the odds (and whatever obstacles) and just go for their dreams :) I can totally understand that "Florin" and his family are living a happy and fulfilling life at this beautiful farm, surrounded by pristine Romanian nature, no matter how simple or boring it may seem to other people. I am sure I would totally love that place. Btw, it was not until this post that I found out you are actually cycling through all those adventures with your girlfriend! I thought you were a solo traveler. Greetings and kudos to your courageous girl! :)

Actually I have only been solo traveling! BUT now when I arrived in Romania I decided to live my life with my girlfriend and together travel the world. (Also by bike!) Our plan is to go all kind of places and for the moment România is our adventure:) Sometimes you also have to stay places to truly experience the gems like this one

Wow, that is awesome :) And the fact that your girlfriend is willing (and possibly even eager? :D) to join you on your bike adventures is aweome too :) I mean not all girls would do that... From the bottom of my heart, I am wishing you guys safe travels and tons of exciting, positive experiences wherever your bikes take you ;)

Thanks a lot man, yes she is a gem for me!

Finally a post of good quality, had to scroll for quite some time to stumble upon one. Nicely written and great pictures. Is Florin now also renting the land? I can imagine he is also not able to buy it because of the same reasons.

Yes he took the chance and rented it. He didn't have much choice if he wanted this. Thanks a lot for the nice words!

hello bro i really like your post. it was really perfect i loved also how you fid this idea ad i loved so much your photos you look like a good photograph and i saw that i the last picture of the sunset .
i hope you more seccess ad see you soon @yacino

Photography is a great hobby of mine:) Actually I got even better shots from this trip but they didn't tell the story as well. How do you like these of the sunset? 20180804194305_IMG_0937.JPG
20180804194103_IMG_0933.JPG

that's great i like this hobby also but i can't do it at the moment and about the sunset is amazing i like it like you took the pic it was perfect and thanks for sharing this beautiful moments of your life with us

lovely story, that bread looked yummy! :)

Hands down the Best bread I have eaten:)

i've got a particular place in my heart for fresh bread that i'll never give up

Wow.....I have never seen before such a beautiful couple...

You are right if you put all your energy you can do anything in your life.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow...really cool

This is definitely an inspirational story. It must have been very challenging for him, especially since the winters have harsh weather conditions.

Best of luck with your biking adventures. If you decide to visit Turkey, reach out to me so I can give you some tips ;)

All the best!

Haritakurdu

Turkey will for sure be on my list since I'm in the eastern Europe! I want to see your mountains and desert!

Oh cool! You would love the country side, the traditional food and the nature, and the people are so friendly there even though they don't know English. I will write blog articles about Turkey in the future ;)

Beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62613.64
ETH 2438.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67