Cycling Denmark to China: Meet the most bad Ass tour bikers... At a bus stop?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Ever seen a man biking from China to Europe on a bamboo bike? Ever seen a Chinese couple using plastic containers to store stuff on their bike?. Neither had I until today.

Let me introduce you to the underground meeting of tour bikers and their crazy ways of travelling:

IMG_20170704_120710.jpg

Alright so on sight these guys might look like regular tour bikers(are there even such a thing?) but a closer look into the details you will see how these tour veterans made me feel like a green vegetable.

IMG_20170704_121438.jpg

The guy that biked from China to Europe on a bamboo bike

So here's his story in short: he traveled to China by hitchhiking, then in China the man decided to bike back to Switzerland ,so he crafted a bamboo bike. Alright alright, he basically comes from where I'm heading, let's take a look at this masterpiece of a bike:

IMG_20170704_110724.jpg

the whole frame is made of bamboo, even the water bottle holders. Even cooler he managed to cycle on this bike without a single puncture the whole damn trip, oh did I mention he had a selfie stick also made of bamboo? This guy is a fucking artist

IMG_20170704_112252.jpg
a even closer look a noticed another stick at the side of his bike, that was his manual gear switch, I'm not kidding you, he uses this stick to switch his gear.

You could feel he had so much experience after 2 years of travelling and had so much valuable information he shared with me. Probably gonna be my go to guy if I have questions about reaching China.

IMG_20170704_121010.jpg

IMG_20170704_121429.jpg

The mad genius couple from China

Yes that is feathers on their helmets. These guys had already traveled for a long while, but right now doing a Europe tour that will later next year lead into a trip back to China, like the one I'm doing. Now let's take a look what so special about these guys, shall we?

IMG_20170704_110754.jpg

Their bikes reflects that this couple have been long enough on the road to have found a perfect balance between madness and being a genius.

IMG_20170704_111039.jpg

IMG_20170704_111045.jpg

Plastic containers, cut up and attached to both their biked as extra storage, how does people come up with these ideas?
Once again they seemed to have a lot to share from their experience in countries they had biked such as Japan. I truly admired this couple for just living a dream together

The many ways of tour biking

Tour bikers are crazy, I think pretty much all tour bikers I have met have had their own unique way to travel depending on their life, their needs and their creativity. I was amazed by these guys at the bus stop, they truly opened my eyes for how much is possible if the will is there.

IMG_20170525_114159.jpg
I have never felt my own bike was that innovative although it does have some unique features such as being chain-less and internal gear system, making my bike almost completely maintenance free. So even my bike reflects a bit how I am as a person, I like to keep things simple and easy, usually I like to cut corners where I can. Many have also admired how little a seem to carry for a long trip like this... Again, easy and simple.

IMG_20170626_110739.jpg

Another example is this guy who even had a spot for his daughter on his bike. Taking her around Europe for a 5 months long bike trip. Anything is possible when you decide to tour bike no matter what circumstances your life might be in, it seems people finds a way that works for them.

I have also met a Romanian guy who had a small speaker attached to his frame, having his own party while biking, kind of hilarious!

The possibilities are truly endless when it comes to tour biking and how you want your own one to be. That's the beauty of this kind of travel and I'm thrilled to see what other kind of crazy stuff people along the way will be coming up with!

Stay Awesome!

-Holm

Sort:  

You were @ocd 's top nominated post today. Check out the post to see your story featured :)

Wow thanks man! That's really cool!

heck yeah congrats man you earned it :)

you should get a little bonus in a week or so :)

What kind of bonus? Sounds interesting! :D

Ping me on Discord buddy. @chiefmappster :)

Sadly i can now make it work from my phone right now, but I will be trying tomorrow or otherwise just wait in excitement for this little present of yours @chiefmappster!

okie dokie buddy and its not from me personally but from the @ocd team

Sure, no problem man! See you around! :) cheers!

wow, you are on an epic journey and meeting epic people! thanks for sharing.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I accept, haha :)

Congratulations, your post was selected to be featured in the compilation post. You can check it here - @ocd . All the best with your journey!

Thanks a lot man! That is so cool! May you find many other good authors out there, there will be as lucky as me! :)

Congrats mate, can't think of a post that deserves this more. Good job.

Thank you my man!

Oh wow, fair play to the man, he has definitely got talent and extreme levels of ingenuity but I am not sure the bamboo bicycle frame will take off anytime soon.

They both look extremely cumbersome to ride though with all of those containers strapped all over them.

It was definitely something new to see, and it seemed to work for them so that's cool!

That is really cool. I think seeing other cultures and how they do things is so neat. Its amazing how different we all are but still so much the same. Love the bamboo bike. Sometimes I wish I could do what you are doing.

Yeah man, People are awesome! Well, if you get that bike of yours and the trailer then you are good to go my friend! See you on the road alright? Haha:)

I just looked at the map, you still have a long way to go to get to China! Are you planning to go through Iran or Russia?

Also that stick for a gear shifter haha! I can't believe it actually works

It was one hell of a meeting and I laughed at all of them but at the same time admired them! I will go through Iran and from there up towards the '' old Russian countries'' or alternative i could take my chances in parkistan and India, who knows? Haha :))

that's just unbelievable, man!

Woah..I want one of those cool bamboo bikes!! But with half the plastic containers though..don't have that many things to transport ;)

Cool story, keep steeming, @holm!

Thanks a lot man! Yeah I wanted one as well haha! :) see you around!

Hehehe just placed an order for a normal trekking bike (unfortunately they had none made of bamboo with a manual gear stick ;)

Those are rare;) haha! But awesome!

I've always enjoyed the idea of bike touring. Never could get past the sore hiny. And of course you have to be in great shape.

The good shape comes automatically! I was no where close to be in a good shape! :) haha

I get that, but you've got to stay on the seat long enough for that to happen lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57646.26
ETH 3029.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26