Delos - Greece (Review + Photographs)

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody, this will be my review from my visit to the island Delos in Greece along with some photos, enjoy!

This island was one of the most interesting islands I ever visited!

As a Greek myself, I'm very used to seeing beautiful statues and structures of Ancient Greece and I visited this island thinking that nothing would surprise me.

First and foremost, I visited the Archaeological Museum of Delos.

I was amazed by the time I walked in! Beautiful works of talented artists from Ancient Greece in every corner.

Things that I used to see in my schoolbooks were there - right before my eyes! 

This was probably one of my favourite activities the entire summer!

The maintenance done by the staff on the works of art was very clean and those are thousand year old statues!

Going outside we visited Stoa De Philippe and I found myself admiring these very interesting statues.

These are not simple marble statues, ivory was used in order to enhance their durability against time and it certainly has paid off! 

Just thinking that people in Ancient Greece were able to get their hands on ivory makes me appreciate these more than I do other great sculptures found in big museums in big cities like Athens. The sculptures there are in need of special care to withstand time while these have withstood the centuries by themselves!

It is of great importance to tell you that Delos is an island that one should visit if he has a very big heart for history and ancient art.

However, Delos - like every other island in Greece - is home to beautiful landscapes and beautiful beaches!

-

If you guys liked my review of my visit to Delos don't forget to leave me a like, I greatly appreciate it and if all goes well I'm thinking of reviewing my visit to Rhodes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51