Travel with me - Trip to Allepey, Kanyakumari, Poovar beach and Kovalam in KERALA (With video clips inside)

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_2960.JPG

I visited Kerala few months back and also uploaded 2 parts of my travel posts while my time there. After that I fell sick due to stomach ulcers and had to leave steemit for 2 months. After my come back I again started to post what I usually do, i.e, my philosophical poetries, articles and forgot about this third part of my travel experience to Kerala.

I found this half written post in my drafts recently and thought to post this now. For all those who haven't seen my previous posts, or even if they did see and want to refresh now, have a look here and here.

So after being to Kochi, Munnar and Thekari, we were on our way to Kovalam beach when we came across a tea factory in Pattumalay.

IMG_2167.JPG

The tea from here goes to overall India and is quite popular.

It was quite boring so I didn't click more photos :P

After that we saw this beautiful church on our way and we couldn't resist to get down and take a visit.

IMG_2189.JPG

IMG_2172.JPG

IMG_4905.JPG

IMG_3004.JPG

And here is my beautiful mom :D

IMG_2214.JPG

Then we went to Alleppey which is called the Venice of the east because of the beautiful backwaters it holds. The backwaters are unending. One can go for boating there all day and it would still not end. Here are some pictures of me while boating in Alleppey.

IMG_3047.JPG

IMG_2990.JPG

And here is the beautiful view from my boat.

IMG_2275.JPG

This place is famous for house boating. This was a house boat I clicked to show you guys.

IMG_2276.JPG

There is an interesting story I want to share with you guys. There was some occasion the day we reached Alleppey so the boating was too much expensive that day then the usual days. Now I am one of those who try to save money wherever I can. So I came up with an idea.

What those people were doing were that they were charging the same amount for ONE family. No matter if the family consisted of 1 person or 6. So they weren't charging for per person, but one family. So I started looking for another family to make a deal with them. It took about 10-15 minutes and I found a couple who was also looking for another family to divide the prices. :P

Then we enjoyed the boating together at half the rate. Hehehe :P So if you ever go a place where you find tourism business looting you, you can use this trick. LOL.

And Here am I again, relaxing and enjoying the views.

IMG_2320.JPG

IMG_4906.JPG

IMG_4725.JPG

IMG_2325.JPG

There was not much to see in Allepey so we stayed there for one day only. Then we headed towards Kanyakumari which is the end point of India. On the way to Kanyakumari, the views were pretty amazing.

Here are a few :-

IMG_2565.JPG

IMG_2635.JPG

IMG_2568.JPG

For the first time I saw Red bananas in my life !!! They are quite yummy :D

IMG_2509.JPG

And look at these see shells and dried starfishes !!

IMG_2524.JPG

Here I am at Kanyakumari beach. Behind me is the Rock memorial of Swami Vivekanand.

IMG_4904.JPG

We had to take a ferry to visit the memorial.

Snapseed (2).jpg

The memorial was a quite and peaceful place. Wasn't much there though to watch except some statues of Swami Vivekanand.

Here I am with a candid picture of mine showing the peaceful blue waters behind me.

IMG_3007.JPG

And this one is not a candid of course :P . Hehehe

IMG_4910.JPG

Then we went to Poovar beach. Now the story of Poovar beach is pretty amazing. What happened on the way was quite hilarious. The thing about reaching Poovar beach is that you have to take a boat to reach there and there is no other option. Well this is what our driver said !!! But alas, thanks to GOOGLE MAPS. :P

We saw a way to reach Poovar beach through road. But our driver tried his best to agree us for the way through backwaters but we were very careful after the scam done with us in Thekari. If you read my previous post you would know what I am talking about. Yes. The JEEP SAFARI scam.

So we told our driver to just drive as per the google maps. He would obviously otherwise received a share had we agreed for the boating passage to Poovar beach. But we broke all his dreams :P. He kept on saying again and again that "the water passage is the best one. That's the only good thing about Poovar beach. You shouldn't miss that. I don't know the way by road, etc etc." But we ignored all his efforts and told him to do what was said.

Finally we reached Poovar beach and it was not as good as we heard of it !!

IMG_2578.JPG

The sand on the beach looked artificial, there were no food stalls or shops, (Yes its a big requirement :P) it wasn't a well maintained and cleaned beach. And the worst thing, we weren't allowed to enter the ocean !!!

Yes, I don't know why is Poovar beach so damn famous ? The beach is deep right from where it beguns so no body is allowed to enter the water. I even heard that some people died there previous years because the water pulls people back quite strongly not giving them enough time to swim back and save themselves. So the entry was restricted.

We had nothing to do there except FEEDING THE CROWS!!!

Can you imagine. :P This is what we did there !!!

IMG_2582.JPG

IMG_2585.JPG

Though the views suddenly turned beautiful at the sunset and luckily our experience at Poovar beach didn't turn out to be that regretting !!!

IMG_2651.JPG

IMG_2599.JPG

IMG_2633.JPG

IMG_2615.JPG

And luckily I was able to click a cute crab :D

IMG_2650.JPG

Next and final day, I was all set to go to KOVALAM BEACH.

IMG_4911.JPG

IMG_4909.JPG

So I headed out to this beautiful place and it became my favourite. May be because I love beaches and water more then hills and mountains.

The Kovalam time was the best time of mine in the overall Kerala Trip. Though I got severe sunburns because my brother didn't check that the sunscreen he bought was not waterproof :P

Then we climbed the lighthouse at the beach for an amazing view !!

IMG_2689.JPG

This is how Kovalam beach looked from the top !!!

IMG_2717.JPG

IMG_2726.JPG

Amazing isn't it?

IMG_2798.JPG

Here are some more of my pictures chilling out on the Kovalam Beach :-

IMG_2647.JPG

IMG_2349.JPG

Here is a selfie with my brother @kkprashantkk. He isn't that regular on steemit but atleast I was successful in motivating him enough to make an account here :P

IMG_2494.JPG

IMG_2389.JPG

IMG_4908.JPG

IMG_2718.JPG

IMG_2722.JPG

IMG_2751.JPG

And I couldn't miss writing my name on the sand obviously :P

IMG_2761.JPG

IMG_2960.JPG

IMG_3157.JPG

IMG_4813.JPG

And here is my mom giving a selfie pose :D

IMG_4812.JPG

And here our trip to Kerala finally came at a hault !! We headed back to our home with the sunburns as a memory of Kerala. LOL.

IMG_4912.JPG

IMG_4913.JPG

And after getting back home, I got severe stomach ulcers about a week later because of the food of Kerala. So if you visit there ever, be careful as they put Imli in everything and all their food is mostly sour !!!

It might suit some people but it didn't suit me, may be because we stayed there for 12 bloody days !! That was to much for my stomach to handle.

So that's all for today.


Thanks for visiting my blog. Upvote if you enjoyed my post and if you love reading such travel blogs, you really need to follow @sweetsssj for amazing travel and food blogs !!! She is one awesome traveler who is a role model to me and you got to go through her amazing blogs.

Sort:  

@holgerwerner i dont know why everyone is voting on your comment, ill vote too :'D

It's the service of a very useful bot called https://www.minnowbooster.net/.
Here is a useful post, on how it works: Understanding Minnowbooster

didn't know people would use it for comments too ;O, thanks for the info i will check it out.

I am glad you could relate with it :) Thanks for your time.
Thanks for the vote and comment. :)

Omg... you have me feeling so nostalgic... I have been to almost all of these places when I stayed at Trivandrum for four months in Winter 2015-2016... I miss all my friends from there :-( Kerala is such a beautiful place

Four months !!!! What did you eat here 🙆🏻‍♀️. I was so fed up with the same food in just 12 days !!

It is beautiful indeed !! 😌😌

Hahaha! I never got tired of the food. I got homemade food every day (I stayed in a CMI monastery.) I also could use the kitchen to cook for myself so I would walk to the vegetable vendors to stock up and make whatever I wanted. Brought some spices and things from the U.S. too so I could make something else if I got tired of curry... but I never really did lol.

Hahaha. Okay. Thats cool :D

where did u stay in kovalam? leela ?
Stay away from very spicy food. Unless u had a bacterial infection , 12 days of food cannot cause ulcers. Ulcers are usually come from an underlying condition

Thanks a lot for visiting my profile and taking the time to read my post. I will check your profile and read some of your good posts now :D

Nice pictures Shweta. It must have been fun to visit Kerala. I had been planning this trip for three years but u know the last minute cancellations. I have been going through this :( I really had fun looking at your picture and it has ignited my urge to visit Kerala once again.

Thanks for making time to visit my post and comment

My pleasure buddy.

i would love to visit this place.. we are been blessed with beauty till infinity of nature, you guys enjoy india we enjoy pakistan.. it would have been a lot of fun if all these restrictions were not there for us...
I wish....
by the way you are looking beautiful in your pictures @himshweta

Hello @himshweta, some lovely photos there and I hope you feel better now. :)

heyy, thank you so much for visiting!!

Yeah i am much better now ! Just have to be really careful about my food habits !!

Thanks a lot for your kind comment and vote :)

nice post, all of your videos and photos are good.

Thank you for being such a sweetheart :)

Your appreciation means a lot to me. Thanks a lot for voting and commenting. Let me have a look at your posts now :D

I am glad you are feeling better now. But what is ulcer and is it that bad you were gone 2 months? Your family is beautiful.

Did you taste the red bananas?

Stomach ulcers are kind of serious erosions inside your stomach layer. You can google it. Yes they are pretty serious.

Thanks for the sweet comment. will visit your blog too.

My mother tasted the red bananas i didn't feel like tasting them. She said they are sweeter then the yellow ones.

i saw your article first time. This is so amazing you are traveling.
I also love to travel but in which way you described speechless.
I will look your all articles about traveling to get knowledge .
Really Beautiful and inspiration article for me. Glad to follow you :) Keep going

Thanks a lot for being so kind to read my post and comment as well.
Will do the same now,

Can't emphasize the beauty this post holds @himshweta. Photographs and scenic beauty with lots of historic gems are stunning. Beautiful people with beautiful mother nature, quite amazing!

Thanks for voting and commenting dear. I will check your blog now

Thank you for being such a sweetheart :)

Your appreciation means a lot to me. Thanks a lot for voting and commenting. Let me have a look at your posts now :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34