Ohia blooms on Kilauea hike

in #travel6 years ago

The ohia trees are common on Kilauea. You'll see them everywhere. The blooms are a bright, red starburst. They're rather large too. About the size of a small apple.

These aren't the greatest pictures of them, but I didn't have a camera when I passed the trees I wanted to capture. Isn't that always the case... The branching of the trees are great. They're knotted and irregular. And the leaves and blooms are interesting too. They both are transformative as they mature through their lifecycle.

I'll attempt to remember to get better pictures, but for now, these will have to do.

20180224.2.JPG

20180224.1.JPG

Sort:  

What a wonderful flower!!! Where did you get it??

This post has received gratitude of 14.64 % from @appreciator thanks to: @hilo.

lovely images !

One of my favorite places int he world. I am so envious of you right now. I was on today with my very close friend from Hawaii telling her I will visit later this year. Until then thanks for the pics.

What a beautiful flower. Are you in Asia somewhere?

You are good photographer.you are my teacher in photographer......

Beautifull flower 👍👌 @hilo
vote back :-)

beautiful flower..!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63162.76
ETH 3063.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85