Around the world #17 The best Cities in The World! Bonus edition Rome Italy (15 picks)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Rome Italy where to go? After this post you know how not to miss out!

I hope you enjoyed the first bonus city in Milan, today we will discover beautiful Rome!
As mentioned Milan is fun but to me Rome has so much more to offer! Did you visit already? And how did you like it? Here are my picks

world city rome 1.png

The City list you can expect this Bonus edition:
Milan, Rome, San Francisco, Perth and Singapore
Ready for this super fun city in “my cities” post here we go!

Why Rome?
Rome is one of the most important and influential cities in the world and of the Western Culture, maybe not so much now anymore but for sure when it all started over 2700 years ago. Since 1871 Rome is the capital of Italy and the city is on the UNESCO world heritage list. There is just so much history waiting for you!

First Impression
I visited the city a few years ago by myself and did not know what to expect really? But as soon as I arrived by train from the airport and got off at Rome Termini I was just stunned by how much history the city holds.
I really was blown away and felt blest I could experience the city.

Highlights
When you visit make sure to spend time and see the following highlights:
I do apologize that I state the highlights everybody knows, but they are just a must!

Pantheon
the original building was built in 27 before Christ! Unfraternally the original temple got destroyed in a fire but in 125 emperor Hadrianus made sure it got rebuild. In 609 the pope turned the building into a Church therefore the Pantheon survived many wars and we are able to enjoy it today.

World city Rome 2.png

Colosseum
We all saw the movie Gladiator probably, that was every day live in Rome many years ago, that why when I visited Rome I was very impressed to see such an old and massive arena. In the Colosseum 50,000 people could enjoy the festivities that were hosted. If you can’t visit the Colosseum of simple don’t have time for it during your visit, make sure you get an 0,05 Italian coin, its on there!

World city Rome 3.png

Trevifontein / Spanish steps
I liked the fact that you could walk around in Rome and see so many highlights, every corner is a big surprise and you never know what you stumble across on. Just like the city I live in, Amsterdam.
A great place to go is either the Trevifontein and the Spanish Steps you can just enjoy the surroundings and be blown away by the scenery.

World city rome 4.png

World city rome 5.png

Trastevere
Up to now I only stated the most obvious highlights but I you want to walk around in a fun neighborhood make sure to visit Trastevere.
Nowadays it has a lot of character because of all the student and great choice of restaurants, just enjoy the small streets, where no cars can come.
As arty it is now, back in the days it was a neighborhood for the rich of Rome even the girlfriend of Julius Caesar had a house there

World city Rome 6.png

Vatican
Just outside Rome but still part of the greater Rome district you will find Vatican City. Well known for the Pope his speeches and home to the highest Catholic state functionaries.
Go to the Basilica of St Peter and just be impressed by all the Vatican has to offer.

World city Rome 7.png

The Downside
In summer it will be super busy and hot, so not enjoyable to discover the city. Also for Italian standards Rome is expensive and can costs you a lot of money if you don’t know where to stay and where to eat.
But please go, let’s say in spring or autumn
Hope you like this first pick of my world cities bonus edition and enjoy Rome while you are there, next up will be the North American power house San Francisco!

Sort:  

Another awesome post Haas! Great job!

Hello! My friend @scottybuckets told me to check out your blog. I just joined and am doing a daily PolitiCast podcast starting tonight. We will cover politics but in an entertaining way. I would appreciate a follow! You write some great basketball articles!

Thanks for stopping by! Every sunday i posted about the NBA week and my surprises.
not really into politics, not even here in Amsterdam.
But will keep my eyes out! have a good one

Ya there really is sooo much history here, hard not to explore it at some point. Loving your travel posts @heyitshaas!

Thanks! only a few more weeks and i can enjoy yours! time for you to escape the cold

Oh yeah! :)

Rome is amazing! Great job describing it!

Thanks! next up San Fran, will go there next month again

This post has received a 0.44 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @heyitshaas.

Great post! Rome is a magical city. Unbelievable history and such iconic buildings/monuments throughout the hustle and bustle of the city streets!

thanks for stopping by! love the city, whats your favorite city in the world? Rome is in my top 5 for sure

For me it’s a toss up of Seattle, Washington USA or Melbourne, Victoria Australia!

This post has received gratitude of 0.42 % from @appreciator thanks to: @heyitshaas.

Hey Haas. If you have any votes left do my buddy a favor and vote for @pfunk for witness. Really would appreciate that. Thank you!

I used to live in Rome! Nice work!

Nice! wish i could life there for a while, were you born in Italy?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59834.01
ETH 2665.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46