Around the world #16 The best Cities in The World! Bonus edition Milan Italy (15 picks)

in #travel7 years ago

Milan Italy where to go? After this post you know how not to miss out!

Just like that the world city list ended, but because people liked it so much and I enjoy sharing my highlight and experiences I decided to create a bonus edition with cities I visited or lived in!
We will go from Europe to the USA and Australia and Asia one last time.

The City list you can expect this Bonus edition:
Milan, Rome, San Francisco, Perth and Singapore
Ready for this super fun city in “my cities” post here we go!

World city milan 1.png

Why Milan?
I visited Milan a few years ago when one of my friends was living there and because he could show me around I was able to discover the city almost like a local. Milan has an international Airport and because of that many flights will have this city as destination.
Milan is a very proud city and claim to be the most fashionable, the city is easy to navigate and is great to walk around in the nice weather of Italy.

First Impression
I like the way the city is setup, it was smaller than I expected but really liked the vibe, people like to be outside, there is an very urban feel to the city, there are a lot of student and young people that give the city a nice feel.
The architecture is beautiful, the streets wide and Milan is located in order for you to visit Switzerland and Austria.

Highlights
When you visit make sure to spend time and see the following highlights:

The Last Supper
If you want to see something unique and want to see something not everybody will see during your visit make sure to see Leonardo’s last Supper in Santa Maria delle Grazie.
Entry is only allowed every 15 minutes with a maximum capacity of 30 people at any given time! I really like it that that protect it like this to preserve it greatly. Tickets costs $10 so what are you waiting for!

world city milan 2.png

Duomo Roof/ Square
Everybody knows the Duomo it’s a real eyecatcher and great place to meet, its just one of the most important city hubs. The started to build this Church in 1386 and its most famous for ornaments and its size. If you are there don’t forget to look at the treasures as well and no matter where you look you will see statues.
If you want to experience the Duomo a little bit different get ticket to get on the roof! If gives you a great view of the city and when the weather is clear you can see the Swiss Alps

World city milan 3.png

Dinner Tram
As mentioned is very convenient to walk around and enjoy the city but my suggestion will be to get onboard tram number 1, taking you to some of Milan’s most symbolic monuments as you go.
The vintage yellow and orange trams with wooden seats connected people for a long time. When you book the evening ride you are able to have dinner on the tram, while enjoying the city! How much fun is that!

World city milan 4.png

San Siro
The whole nation is mourning about the fact the Squadra Azzuri did not make it the world cup! I feel the pain because my country did not qualify as well.
The Italian love their soccer and are very proud about it. And they should be because they produced some great players.
While in Milan you are able to enjoy a soccer game every weekend while the season is on. You can go blue or red, as in Inter or Milan, they share the stadium and is essential to get into the city culture.

World city milan 5.png

The Downside
Milan is relatively small, and you will be able to cover everything you want in a few days, my suggestion will be to use Milan as a stop during a nice trip within Italy. My next post will be about Rome to me a more impressive city then Milan, sorry Milan
Hope you like this first pick of my world cities bonus edition and enjoy Milan while you are there, next up will be Rome!

Sort:  

So keen on Milan - awesome share! Thanks @heyitshaas

Just posted my Favorite in Italy

Yes. Milan is so beautiful city of italy. I am also from Milan ..

Nice, what will be your tip?

Another well done, well written, excellent post! Post like these get me real excited about by trip to Europe this summer!

Thank you for sharing Haas!

Thanks! when can i be your Dutch tourguide? have a good one

Some time next summer....if I ever get ahead on my work and leave this hotel room here in Guayaquil Ecuador. lol

This post has received a 0.57 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @heyitshaas.

I was actually just considering places to visit during the summer and then I found your blog! Now I have a preliminary list of cities to read up on :)

Your are welcome hope you like it, i know i liked all the cities i visited

Italy is so beautiful! I am heading to Guatemala later this month. Will be blogging my adventures. Hope you can follow along :)

looking forward to it! go for your can escape harsh weather in TO

I know! I can't wait!

This post has received gratitude of 0.32 % from @appreciator thanks to: @heyitshaas.

Lovely post of Milan. I was there for the World Expo a few years back. Such a beautiful city. Looking forward to more travel stories! Following!

Thans, more to come soon, including Rome! so many places to see haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49