#29 Explore the Hidden Gems in Amsterdam, Bicycle pick up and graveyard. The Local picks.

in #travel6 years ago

Bicycles everywhere! The Hidden Amsterdam, no tourist will ever know!

Today it’s time to share with you a post in my Hidden Gems in Amsterdam series. Most times the post is about something not so hidden like a market or museum but today I will share with you that only the locals will know.

As you know Amsterdam has almost more bicycles then inhabitants so if you visit the city you will see many bikes. Amsterdam is really famous for it and as tourist you have to really look where you walk to not get hit by one of these bikes. Every local uses a bike and most like myself use it to get to work as well. The only problem with that is finding a parking spot for your bike.
Many people in the city just park their bikes somewhere random but the government does not allow that. So if you park your bike where it’s not allowed (even if you try to find a normal spot but there is just no space) they will cut your lock and take your bike!
It will happen to everybody that uses a bike daily in the city. After the government takes your bike to bring it to a spot outside of the city where you can pick it up again by paying $20.
It sucks but it’s the only way to control the bikes in the city.
So this post will be about me picking up my bike after the government took it.
It takes me 45 minutes to get to spot and the bike ride back to my apartment is also 40 minutes.
Are you ready to see thousands of bikes!!!!

hidden gem 29 pic 1.png

hidden gem 29 pic 2.png

hidden gem 29 pic 3.png

hidden gem 29 pic 4.png

hidden gem 29 pic 5.jpg

hidden gem 29 pic 6.png
“time to bike home!”

What do you think? Thanks for stopping by as always my Steemit friends. Don’t forget to reach out to me when you are in Amsterdam so I can show you the city.
Really enjoy making this kinds of post so I can make sure you see the best Amsterdam.
will make sure I will stay active in my own city in order to show you around more.
Have a good on everybody.

Haas pic small.jpg

Sort:  

Isn't that just a regular Amsterdam bike locking area? Lol! The bike you picked up looks slick. Let's see a wheelie!

How do you even start looking for your bike, haha. At least you got back your bike @heyitshaas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80