#15 Explore the Hidden Gems in Amsterdam, My First Safari!! The Local picks

in #travel6 years ago

Like always I will take you to the best spots in Amsterdam!

Welcome back to this ‘hidden gems’ series of my blog. For the people that don’t know what to expect, it’s simple, I will share the most unique and fun spots in Amsterdam with you. So when you visit this beautiful city you can experience the city like a real local.
The weather is getting better and soon we are able to enjoy my favorite time a year in the city; Summer!
today I will share with you my first safari in my life! The Safari park is around a hour drive away from Amsterdam so technically it’s not a hidden gem in Amsterdam but my country is so small to me this still counts. You can easy do a day trip to the Beekse Bergen park, and so we did! Hope you enjoy this post.

hidden gem 15 pic 1.png

De Beekse Bergen
I decided to enjoy the day with @world5list and some other friends by going to the Beekse Bergen.
The biggest zoo of the Benelux. You can see over 150 animal species and pretend you are on a real safari somewhere in Africa.
The park has a part that you drive in your car and afterword’s you can enjoy a walk to see even more animals.

Ready to see it all for yourself:

hidden gem 15 pic 2.png
@world5list driving us there, an hour drive away from Amsterdam”

hidden gem 15 pic 3.png
“me sitting at the back, promoting the platform”

hidden gem 15 pic 4.png
“the start of my first Safari”

Hidden gem 15 pic 5.png
“great information on what to see”

hidden gem 15 pic 6.png

Hidden gem 15 pic 7.png
“everybody trying to get the best shots”

hidden gem 15 pic 8.png

hidden gem 15 pic 9.png
“they come really close to your car”

hidden gem 15 pic 10.png

hidden gem 15 pic 11.png

hidden gem 15 pic 12.png
“some innocent fun with feeding”

hidden gem 15 pic 13.png

Hope you enjoyed this fun escape of the city of Amsterdam, The Beekse Bergen are great for a day trip and it’s the closest I have ever been to a Safari, I only got me more motivated to save money and do a real one.
Don’t forget to stay in the car during the Safari. Few days ago a French family thought it was smart to leave the car and look to the animals up close some more.
The website is in Dutch but please have look at this crazy video!
Thanks for stopping by everybody, back soon with more hidden gems.

Beekse Bergen
5081 NJ Hilvarenbeek

Haas pet.png

Sort:  

Great place Haas.

De giraffe zegt gedag :).

Groeten, @DoWithLove

Thanks for stopping by, the Giraffe sure did say hi. Enjoy your day

Hope you didn´t get out of the car around the cheetahs! ;-) Nice report, upvoted!

haha, thanks for stopping by, those wierd French people

Great day with animals. I am a great zoo fan.
I love watching animals of other countries!!!

Unfortunately Amsterdam is quite far fom Beekse Bergen, but oh well!

Happy you didn't crazily get out of the car for a picknick with some cheetahs.

haha you are right did stretch Amsterdam a bit, but a great day trip for people visiting the Netherlands so they can see some more flat country. Thanks for stopping by!

That is true! I did enjoy my stay when I was there a couple of years ago though!

Animals are the closest and most devoted friends of a person. They are more sensitive and loyal to people. They are ready to be from the very beginning, and some of us do not understand this ... and the animals are on the street.

Thanks for stopping by, just mvoed into an appartment with 3 dogs, starting to see that more and more

Save up your money and get over to Africa and do a real safari. Self drive or stay at a lodge and get driven by a ranger. It will blow your mind.

I was a game ranger, feels like another life ago already. Living in a game reserve, with lions, leopards, buffalo, zebras, wildebeest etc is something else. Being in a position to have taken people from outside of Africa around and let them see and experience the African wildlife was a wonderful experience for me. Sharing our wonderful country and what too many of us takes for granted is special.

If you do save up for it and decide that South Africa is an option, shout and I'll give you lots of places to go and amazing things to see.

Thanks for the post, very good.

Thanks for stopping by! will try as much money as I can! really would like to go on a Safari

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82