100K People At The Gay Parade, One Big Celebration Of Equality in Amsterdam! (pictures)

in #travel7 years ago

Must see celebration of acceptance and togetherness, one big party for days!

Parade 1.png

I love to travel and as some of you might know I did so for almost four years. I thinking about going somewhere else right now again but whatever I choose there is one constant, me coming back to Amsterdam!
I sometimes find it hard to explain why I always come back to the city but the Gay Parade is an example why I love that city so much.
Amsterdam is very liberal (legalized soft drugs, prostitution), everybody can just be themselves. And once a year the at Gay Parade thats very noticeable, it’s a must experience of togetherness and shows how livable the city is!

The Netherlands is a pioneer when I comes to same-sex marriages, it was the first nation to grant same-sex couples the basic human rights at a national level.
Today my country serves as a paradise for same-sex couples from all over the world, something we celebrate during the yearly Gay Parade. Even though in am not gay myself it is the vibe of Amsterdam that always makes me want to come home once in a while.
So again if you want to experience one big party come to the parade next year!

Parade 2.png

Parade 3.png

Every year the highlight of the weekend it the Canal Parade, the parade is the showcase of acceptance with more than 100K people cheering for the boats on the canals.
The Canal parade is a reflection of the whole society with boats from the Police, Government, big corporate companies, different countries and so on.
Here are some pictures from yesterday:

Parade 4.png

Parade 5.png

Parade 6.png
“the Police Boat”

Parade 7.png

Parade 8.png

Parade 9.png“just look at the crowd”

Hope you liked this post about one of the most perfect cities in the world Amsterdam! and remeber to always be yourself!
As always make sure you visit The Netherlands once you won’t be disappointed.

Any of my followers been before?

Sort:  

I actually was there for Amsterdam pride on one of the boats watching it. It was my first time at pride in a canal / loved every minute of it!!

it is indeed a super nice event the whole city celebrates for days.
love Amsterdam

You made great photographs!

Thanks! my friend lives on the Prinsengracht on a houseboot, so every year including kingsday i am sitting first row.
thats why

I missed it even though I live in Amsterdam. :( Nice to see your pictures, I hope you had a fun day! Followed for more!

Thanks, just looked at your blog as well, keep the cheap recipies comming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49