SUMMER TRIP #6: SPLIT, CroatiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

After Sibenik, I headed towards Split, the last part of my Croatian adventure, from where I would take a flight to Rome and then back to Spain.

Split is everything you heard about it: an exciting and thriving coastal city invaded by tourists all summer long, which makes even walking into the narrow streets of the city center very difficult and frustrating at times.

                                  

                                       

The fact is that the story and birth of Split can be traced to one and one man only: Diocletian, the Roman emperor, who hailed from the region and loved the place so much that he built there a palace to himself (see the drawing below). 

                          

                                    

 

After his death, and during the subsequent upheavals suffered by the Empire, folks from all other the region huddled around the fortified palace and the palace became the city center of what is now the city of Split.

So basically, all the "old town" is the old palace of Diocletian, where you'll find his mausoleum and you can also enjoy a lot of tiny details, like this statue from egypt used to decorate that house:

                              

One of the landmark is of course the belltower of Saint-Domnius cathedral: 

                                   

But this was was added only later (XIIth century). Climbing it is highly recommended and gives an amazing view of the whole region:

I spent only one night in Split and frankly, in July, it's more than enough due to the crowds... So, in the morning of July 28th, I took the shuttle to Split's airport and said goodbye to Croatia. 

                                                        

But before to come back to Spain, I had one last rendez-vous with Rome, and this time I really expected to make the most of it!

To be continued
Sort:  

nice tour... are you a photographer? nice shot!

I wish! But just had my One+One and Nexus mobiles with me :)

After all, when the world looks to America, they look to us because we are the most successful political and economic experiment in human history.

Gold medal for the most extraneous comment on one of my post ever :) Thanks for taking the time anyway

You’re amazing at what you do!

Thanks... And errr what is it I do?

just wow place!!

Well worth a visit! but off season would be more advisable :)

I'm trying to move on my friend to travel to Croatia. :) @herverisson

I'm sure you'll succeed!

What a beautiful place to visit. I've never thought about traveling there, but now its on my bucket list.

Thanks! Croatia is well worth a visit and is PACKED now every summer... Better go Spring or Autumn (that's what i'll do next time!)

Looks like a really stunning historical city! Thanks for this glimpse into Croatia, I really enjoyed the photos and the information about the history of Split.

Glad you enjoyed it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69828.11
ETH 3825.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55