Capsule Hotel in Japan: 5 Things I Discovered

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Capsule Hotel.png

I've been intrigued by capsule hotels ever since I've heard of them so I've decided this is one item to add on my bucket list that has a higher chance of being ticked off (compared to say, "earning a million by the time I'm 40" lol).

Last month, I had to go to Osaka for an overnight trip and I decided this was finally my chance to try staying in one. There were quite a few choices but I went for Capsule Hotel Astil Dotonbori because of the location and its reviews. It's right in the famous Dotonbori Street (Hello Glico Running Man!) and about 5 minutes away from Namba Station.

(Please note, a few photos are by the management because some of my photos had very bad lighting lol)

lobby.png
Source


1. It's very clean

I've always thought of capsule hotels as something like normal hostels - one huge room with bunkbeds but I was pleasantly surprised at how sanitary and well-organized the place is! There are two floors, including the main lobby area, exclusively for females and two floors for males.

beds.png


2. The capsules are quite spacious

I'm a wee bit claustrophobic so this was the part I was most hesitant of. I am happy to say that the capsules are quite roomy with twin-sized (called double in some countries) beds. Each capsule also comes with a retractable TV, a ventilation system, a normal plug, a USB port, a USB cable with different attachments for different ports for charging your gadgets, a light switch with a dimming feature and an alarm (no sound, it makes your lights go on an off).

bed.png


3. They have awesome bathroom & shower amenities

Each floor comes with its own bathroom equipped with several toilets and shower rooms to share. On one side of the bathroom is my favourite: the "powder room" area with individual sinks, hairdryers and unlimited toiletries (by brands like Shisheido and Esthe Royer) to use. There is also a corner with a laptop and printer provided for guests in case you need to print some last-minute tickets and itineraries.

bathroom.png


4. You don't have to worry about where to put your stuff

When you enter the main area past the lobby, you are required to use an electronic key to enter. You have to take your shoes off and keep them in the shoe lockers (each locker comes with slippers for you to use). Past the shoe lockers is another room where the main lockers are with your own key. The hotel also offers secured free luggage storage at the lobby.

lockers.png


5. Last but definitely not the least, it is UNBELIEVABLY affordable!

Considering all the amenities they provide (free wifi, a "beauty kit" welcome pack, a complimentary bottled water, towels and nightwear to use, a toothbrush and bath products), I only had to pay ¥2,480 or about $22.

astil.png
Source


Please take note that I booked the room about two weeks before my travel date. As with any hotels, the price will slightly be higher if you book closer to the date so if you're not taking a last-minute trip to Osaka, be sure to book it as soon as you can!

xoxo HelloSusu

Sort:  

I have always wanted to sleep in one of these but not being able to sleep with my partner stopped me :(

That's true, but there are actually capsule hotels that have mixed rooms for couples ;)

Wow thanks.. I never realized that.

cool! they look like rooms on a space ship!

@irphotography They really do hahaha

I so need to try sleeping in one of these when I visit Tokyo!

Great post! Despite the fact that i travel a lot because of my work i never been able to visit Japan. This Capsule Hotel concept it's pretty cool and i think for at least one night i would like to stay as well in one. Anyway since you mention in your post about the "bucket list" one of my things is to visit Japan. Since your posts are so nice my advice is just to Steem on!

What a cool experience! It sounds like a rather good-value alternative for a fuss-free traveler actually..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75