Dara and the camel bone’s necklaces

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Dara sells necklaces in Petra. But, not any kind of necklace, she explained to me while I’m walking in the sand streets of Petra. “Those necklaces are made by camel bones”, she said.

The fifteen-year-old girl has an easy smile and bright eyes. She is very intelligent and wants to use all of her arguments to sell me her necklaces.

Dara (1).png

I realize quickly that a simple “No, thanks” wouldn't be enough to make her give up on me, so I decide to chat in a way to make her distracted. I asked her your name and age, but Dara knows that she doesn’t have time to waste with tourists and seeing that I wouldn’t buy the necklaces she interrupts me “Where is your boyfriend, mam?”. I laugh “I don’t have a boyfriend, Dara!”... And then she laughs in a sarcastic way and says “what do you mean, you don’t have a boyfriend?”. With a bit of arrogance, I replied “Listen, young girl… After a certain age, you realize that man can bring you so much trouble, that is much much better to be alone”. She laughs. “I have a boyfriend. He’s from Chicago”, she looked me in a way of superiority. “Serious, Dara? So, tell me something… Where can I buy a boyfriend from Chicago here in Petra”. We both laugh loud. “Can I take a picture of you?”. Dara poses for me and smile.

After I put my camera back on my shoulder, Dara makes the question that every child make after you refuse to buy something “Later?”. So, I respond “Later, Dara”. But I’m not so sure if it was about the necklaces or the boyfriends. Who doesn’t wait for love to adorn life?

(Petra, Jordan, 2017)

#storytravelling

M Accounting Inc. (1).png

Sort:  

I’m using Partiko to make friends and have fun on the Steem blockchain. You should as well! Here’s my invite link: https://partiko.app/referral/mcoinz79, you will get 3000 Partiko Points for sign up bonus, and you can exchange them into Steem token!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @helgalubevi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56098.81
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36