10 Hours in Amsterdam

in #travel7 years ago

Hello my Steemit friends!

Three months ago I traveled from Costa Rica to Israel, to visit my friends and family. Since Costa Rica is so far from Israel there are no direct flights so you have to take a connecting flight. This time I had a connecting flight in Amsterdam. I had to wait almost 10 hours until my next flight. Luckily the airport is only 30 minutes from the city center, so I took the train and went out to explore the city.

Now, to be honest it wasn’t my first time in Amsterdam, this is why I decided to take it easy and just go for a nice walk in the city and enjoy the nice weather (It was spring time, so it’s usually rainy in Amsterdam).

I got off the train right next to the city center, and started my way too Dam square trough Nieuwendijk. Nieuwendijk street is a long shopping street where you can find anything, from souvenirs to clothing stores and coffee shops. 

After I finished shopping (it took me a while) I came to to the heart of Amsterdam, the Dam square. There you can find the Royal Palace, National Monument, Madame Tussauds, Nieuwe Kerk (New Church). If it’s your first time in Amsterdam you should probably take a tour to those places; but, as I said I have been there several times, so I decided to buy big french fries, sit next the monument and watch the square. 

The square is really vibrant and there’s always something happening, so you won’t feel how the times go by. You can see there living statues, performers, protesters and of course lots of pigeons.

I walked for a little while by the streets and alleys near the Dam square and visited small shops. Then, it was time to go back to airport, and I started doing my way to the train station through Rokin street, which is a busy street with lots of  restaurants and cafes.

That was all for my short visit in Amsterdam. If you have the chance, you should definitely explore Amsterdam, even if it’s only for few hours.


Sort:  

My city next time come let me know i will show you and your boyfriend around

Sure, it will be great!

When you are going through the streets there, can you get by if the only language you speak is English??? I would like to travel someday, but I am concerned that since I only speak English, and a very little bit of Spanish, that the language barrier would be a difficult thing for me to overcome. Does anybody have something to say to me about that? Thanks! Upvoted and Resteemed.

Thank you @bi5h0p , I think that in Europe, especially in northern countries, it's really to travel because most of the people there speak English very well. Also the touristic areas usually have street signs in both English and the local language.
So don't let the language barrier to stop you from travel the world!

Great you got to spend some time in Amsterdam. I am definitely interested having some of those big french fries and walk around.

It was exactly what I needed after a long flight

Beautiful pictures, I have never seen a real live peacock in my life. @helenril

enjoy amsterdam, my fave city... i am sterdam

What a beautiful place!

Nice pictures

great city ! love the weed there ! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71