You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Culture Shocked

in #travel8 years ago

Actually that trip had taken place in March 2015, I can see why my wording would lead you to believe it was happening now, I just wanted to let the readers feel a sense of being there in the moment with me.

Even being there in March it was really hot, I kept my jeans on to be respectful since it is a Muslim country and the women there dress very conservatively. Morocco is probably the most "liberal" country in regards to tourists and not caring how much skin they show but I wanted to be respectful, even though I would've loved to wear some shorts!

I'll be posting more stories on this trip in the future but since you asked, I stayed a few nights with a family in Ouarzazate Morocco and the mother made some amazing dinners in a tagine. Her couscous and chicken was incredible... my mouth is watering now just thinking about it. She also made breakfast every morning that consisted of a mild tasting porridge and thin pancakes served with butter and jam. So I'm very happy that I got to experience real home cooking there. Otherwise while I was in Marrakesh I would eat at the small restaurants and I stuck with the rotisserie chicken since I knew it was kept hot the whole time. I was only a little paranoid of food sickness but everything tasted good. They season the food very similarly to the Mediterranean style so I was loving it.

Sort:  

I think you should keep that style of writing, it gives the reader a better sensory experience, a sense of being there in the moment with you, as you said.

Where are you going after Portugal btw? Spain? Or somewhere outside the E.U? Or maybe don't answer that, keep publishing the travel stories as they come :)

I was just asking in case you needed some tips about Spain... Anyways, happy travels and may you discover more delicious cuisines :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58