You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When I went to Jamaica and fell in love ...

in #travel7 years ago

Jamaica is such a beautiful place. I've been lucky enough to visit there three times over the years. It was my favorite place until 2012 when I visited Roatan, Honduras for the first time. Roatan is the island I fell in love with. I actually wrote a post similar to yours titled "Where I Belong". It's an undescribable feeling to find a place that calls to you and makes you feel so at home.

Sort:  

I just saw your post, and it looks amazing! Maybe that should get on my list as well :) What's it like there, compared to Jamaica? :)

It's a much smaller island. Our first visit was a cruise stop for a day and we explored the whole place (with a private tour guide). We loved it so much that we booked a weeklong stay for the following year.

There aren't many hotels. Instead, there are condos and houses to rent. We chose a house as you probably seen in my post.

The snorkeling is AMAZING there. We went to a different spot everyday.

It's been a while since I was last in Jamaica, but when I was there, leaving the resort areas wasn't recommend and some places felt very unsafe. We never felt unsafe in Roatan.

The people are absolutely amazing as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50