You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 😎 Likedeeler messes up 😎

in #travel7 years ago

Eek! When I was teaching English to strict Moslems (in the 1980s), my father would drop me off outside the house - and my female students weren't even allowed to look out of the window until his car had driven away. We all used to have a laugh about it because my dad, bless his heart (and rest his soul) was hardly a sexpot - the least likely man to have women running down the road throwing their saris at him :)

Sort:  

Yeah, it´s all quite funny until some woman ends up dead in some honor killing.
Not that the Catholic machismo of Southern Europe or Latin America is any better,
but at least they are Christians. 😉
Thank God I´m an atheist.
Though of course I thought it clever to tell the Pakistanis I was a Christian.

One of my students was, genuinely, the cleverest woman I've ever met. She spoke 5 languages fluently and devoured Shakespeare and Dostoevsky. She refused marriage three times, at which point her father forcibly married her off to Pakistan somewhere. I received a letter from the mountains then nothing more - gone. I often think about her. No, there was nothing funny about that fate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40