Ulog #20: Went on a Trip to Penang for A Friend's Wedding

in #travel5 years ago (edited)


Designed using Canva App

I had a very fruitful trip to Penang just last weekend though I took time to recuperate from the walking and also catching up with people.

I did 2 Travel Vlogs, Dtube Vlog: Travel with @happycrazycon & Friends to Penang Part 1and Dtube Vlog: Travel with @happycrazycon to Penang Part 2 to show you how my days went by from morning till night. However with the photos I have from my friends, I decided I will document them in a #ulog form too! After all, I don't get to meet so many of my university mates in one setting and it coincidentally also marked 10 years after our graduation from our degree course!

I went with another 3 girl friends who drove ourselves up. After breakfast together having some Yong Tao Fu (stuffed meat in vegetables and tofu), we stopped by Starbucks in Rawang to pick up their daily dose of coffee,which I don't do. It was a very nice and rustic Starbucks so we took some photos there.


Next, it was driving for another 4.5 hours up to Penang without occasional toilet breaks in between. I was thankful to not need to drive. So, I caught up on some sleep in the car and of course with many conversations with them. These were my church friends whom I hung out often with last time. So happened, one of them was also my classmate and we all know the groom.

Upon reaching the hotel I have booked, Arte S, we were astounded by the view we have from the 29th floor and how futuristic the place looked like. It has a sky Jacuzzi and a huge lounge at its 41st and 42nd floor. The interior decoration of the place we stay was also impressive. We booked a 2-room apartment which costs us only RM108( 26.19SBD) each for two nights, good deal right?


Check out our balcony view at 29th floor!


I like following this group of friends because they are very laid back and they even scheduled in nap time as part of the activities Hahah. It is just right for a pregnant lady like me.

Next, of course after taking photos and rested, we went on a food hunt. Penang is known for not just itsstreet food, but also for its street murals and quaint cafes. I super loved this cafe called Narrow Marrow which was a narrow cafe with many interesting finds. It is very small and we were lucky to find ourselves a table for the 4 of us. We ordered the best Avocado Shake ever and some Salted Palm Sugar Cheesecake and a slice of Coconut Blue Butterfly Pea Cheesecake too. They were delicious though I refrained as I didn't want my tummy to be upset by too much cheese.




After that, since we were quite full, we went for mural hunting nearby before we set for dinner at a hawker center. It wasn't easy to find parking in Penang. There are many older streets and buildings in Penang which I am fond of looking at. I was too engrossed with taking clips for my vlogs so I didn't take many photos for this trip.





We had Char Koay Kak, oyster omelette, Hokkien Mee which is their Prawn Mee, Lo Bak for dinner. After that we returned to our hotel to check out its Jacuzzi and lounge. Then we called it a day for day 1.

That was because on Day 2, we were going to check out the local market in the morning for brunch. I woke up rather early at 7am after a really good sleep. We went to this market called Jelutong Pasar with recommendations from friends for their Char Koay Kak, Fried Vermicelli with sweet sauce and Curry Noodles. They were to die for!







After that, we went to the mall to grab some stuff and I bought a pair of wedges, just right for the usage of the wedding dinner. I got some toys for @littledrummerboy too as I really miss him.

After the mall, we headed to a cafe by the seafront. This place has no beach for us to walk on, but we enjoyed the sea breeze and there were many people fishing with some oldies music playing in he background. It was so serene.









The cafe called Dan (单) was amazing. I loved the interior as it was like a mini forest. It has plants in bottles and conical flasks, workshops on building terrariums to encourage the preservation of nature in Penang. It was again a small cafe but wow it was so relaxing that I could take a nap there. My friends ordered the best Matcha latte for me, not sweet at all but so flavourful! Love it so much. We went for a passion fruit tofu cake, a very delicious chicken pie and a a Matcha lava cake. Yums!!! I highly recommend this cafe too. Later on, my another hunch of coursemates and friends dropped in and we had a short reunion time there too.

Finally, we were there for the highlight of the trip, which is the wedding of Mr. Nice Guy. You can tell how likable he is by the amount of people traveling from different places after 10 years to congratulate him. One of my friend's whole clan was invited, including her family and in-laws. He actually knew ALL of them, you know!!!

We had a blast seeing old friends, especially after 10 years after graduation. My course rep those days called for a group photo to commemorate this reunion. My friend who is the groom was obviously exhilarated to be married. He was a bit drunk too with toasting on a chair. It was quite funny to watch and later on, he went dancing with his bride. We were lucky to have some photos with the couple because it is not always easy to catch them as many guests would want to take photos with them too.















3 among my girl friends are mothers, including me, where we took "leave" from our mom duties and responsibilities to attend his wedding. One of my mom friends was so determined and came with this spirit of DDMDIA (die die must do it all) to walk to ALL the street murals to take photos. She brought along another friend who walked till she almost breathless but the mom friend was still so energetic! She went to the most famous Chendul and queued. She went to the most famous Assam Laksa to queue too. She was the laughing stock for the whole trip but she didn't mind. She was too excited that she almost boarded her flight a day earlier. She made it to the airport and the immigration officer told her that the flight is the following day!! What a joker right? Then she wanted to go to this hidden bar and was so excited telling us about it. They took grab there only to find out it was closed for renovation for 3 months. Finally, after the wedding dinner, they managed to find their way to a hidden bar, to satisfy her desire. Having seen her, I reminisced our housemate days because she was staying with me. I still remember her very determined spirit and seemed like she is still that cheerful and optimistic self. It was so good to see all of them again, sort of made me felt we were suddenly 10 years younger, just like the old days, before we were married with children, haha! The very carefree and silly days where we made silly faces and did so many fun things together.


46131288_928215027369068_1751554832302342144_n.jpg

Before going on the trip, I was very worried about my strength level because I have been having more severe morning sickness compared to the last pregnancy. I equipped myself with sour plums, nuts and many other food to suppress the acid reflux. I have medicines on standby and my nausea bands were used the whole time. It turned out I was much fitter than 3 of them, who was having flu, stomach bloatedness and even acid reflux. I came back perfectly fine, just a bit more tired than usual.

Such a fun trip! I came back very happy. The thing is, we are setting off for another road trip tomorrow, to meet my parents and siblings for my brother's convocation!!!! I know it's crazy, right? Hence why O am taking every chance to be well rested while catching up with my classes as well!

Thank you for reading about my first trip. November sounds like a good month to be travelling, haha! I am now looking forward to build memories with my little family and my parents after building memories with some old friends! Photos uploaded are used with permission from my friends









created by @zord189







Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://happycrazycon.vornix.blog/2018/11/14/ulog-20-went-on-a-trip-to-penang-for-a-friends-wedding/

Sort:  

The food looks nice and it looks like you had a fun time with your friends. Nothing better than a nice day out with those closer to you.

Hahaha yeah the food did taste delicious and the thing I treasured the most was seeing old faces. Thank you for visiting and reading @wales :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to happycrazycon! This bot is managed by Kiwibot and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

Soooooooo many food.. Wah Penang oh Penang. How come you are so far from me. Lol... Thank you for sharing this. So much effort put into it. 💪😊

So many food pictures... Hungry liao!!
I saw this hotel the last time I went to Penang with @roselifecoach to attend a kenduri nearby that area, very beautiful at night!

@happycrazycon glad you had a very fulfilling trip!! 😊
Penang is a lovely place with good food (especially the char kway teow oh my goodness) but of course made better with good company ((:

Posted using Partiko Android

the food looks good and it seems you all had a good time!

Hi @happycrazycon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.598 which ranks you at #5683 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 5694).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 252 contributions, your post is ranked at #150.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

We all need those nice breaks, it's great to enjoy with friends and nice food. Your pics are amazing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86