Blue Springs in Florida, USA

in #travel7 years ago

Hey Steemers!

I wanted to show you the beautiful Blue Springs of Florida. I went the last 4 days in a row! It was a lot of fun and I wouldn't doubt that I would go back in the next few days (but I hope to visit some new ones soon).

BS1.png

Below are some pics I took underwater with a "Water-Proof" camera that broke after four pictures (two of which were bad), so unfortunately I could not get more. I think I'm going to invest in a Go Pro... We will see!

BS2.png

Springs are all about preservation of the forests, rocks, and nature, so taking away souvenirs is a big no no. Lol. They rent out cheap tubes, canoes and kayaks, so it's a great place to go for that as well, but we just decided to swim in the mouth of the spring because it is the coolest part!

BS3.png

Here is the mouth of the spring below:


IMG_5399.jpgIMG_5407.jpg

IMG_5402.jpg

About 10 years ago, I got to dive this crevice! It is really cool! We went down about 60 feet even though it goes down about 120 ft. For seasoned and beginner divers it is an awesome dive! I recommend it if you are down here at any point. Not a lot of fish swim around this point of the river, but there are thousands of Gar and Manatee around half way up towards the main St. Johns river. Feeding the river 102 million gallons of fresh water a day (thank you Wikipedia)!

Hope you can get out here and visit a few of our beautiful Florida springs Steemers! A few more I've visited are Alexander Springs and Devils Den (which is now closed to anyone except for Scuba Divers). Happy Trails!

Click Below, Re-Steem, and Follow!

Sort:  

cool. that water looks fresh as. man I got to get to florida.

It's pretty clear considering all the people that visit. But I guess it's fresh out of the ground!

Looks fun but crocs scare the hell outta me

Barely any crocs in Florida luckily, but there are gators. They tend not to bother people and if there are a lot of people they take off. I've seen quite a few down here and have never had a problem. Let's hope it stays that way. Lol.

Very nice! Looks like a lot of fun. Tubing is a great time for sure!

Thanks man. We would rather swim. The water is cold, but you get used to it.

Yeah, I would rather swim too, actually.

What about those gar? Are they safe to swim around? We used to fish for them when I was younger.

They are fine. I was in a huge school of them and my cousins (graceland and scottland) were watching from above. No bother. They look scary though. Lol

I never knew that. Well, I can honestly say that they get slightly irritated when they get in a boat. haha!!

Probably pretty uncomfortable since gator tail tastes delicious! Lol

Sorry I was just doing a new blog, All done now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52