Tasting Wine in Mendoza, Argentina (Part Two)

in #travel6 years ago

Greetings Steemit friends! I am excited to share my next post about wineries to visit if you ever find yourself in Mendoza, Argentina.

In my previous post, I gave a little background information about Mendoza and then focused on wineries in the Lujan de Cuyo region of Mendoza. You can check out that information here: https://steemit.com/travel/@hannahlaurel/tasting-wine-in-mendoza-argentina-part-one

This time I’m going to focus on winery recommendations in the Uco Valley region of Mendoza.

m1.jpg

As a reminder, Uco Valley is the region that takes the most time to get to from the city of Mendoza (it takes about 75 minutes to get there by car). This is considered the premiere Mendoza wine region, and is worth visiting not only for the world-class wine, but also the amazing views and beautiful architecture. Elevation here can be up to 4,000 ft. above sea level! Also it is important to know when planning your visit that most wineries here require reservation.

With that in mind, let’s get started with the good stuff….

1) ANDELUNA

Andeluna is a modern, state-of-the-art winery situated along the Andes Mountains. Their wine is excellent, and I would highly recommend visiting Andeluna for a tour and tasting. The view of the Andes from the vineyard is unbelievably stunning, and makes the whole experience special and unique. The overall atmosphere was definitely the best of all the wineries I visited during my trip to Mendoza.

A1.jpg

taking in the amazing views

They also offer a 5-course lunch with wine pairings, which I indulged in. It was lovely, however the food did not begin to compare to the amazing meal I had at Ruca Malen (highlighted in my previous post mentioned above).

a3.jpg

view from inside the winery, where the 5 course lunch is served

For more information, visit their website: http://www.andeluna.com.ar/en/home/

2) SALENTIEN

Salentien also boasts amazing views of the Andes, but what makes this winery really stand out is its wine cellar. Salentien is said to have one of the most impressive wine cellars in all of Mendoza, with a huge wine producing facility containing 5,000 barrels of wine, three tasting rooms, and the Primus Room (a room filled with giant oak casks). While I did not have the opportunity to visit when I was in Mendoza, I plan to stop there the next time for a tasting and tour!

s1.jpg

bodegasalentien.com

For more information, visit their website: http://www.bodegasalentein.com/

3) DOMAINE BOUSQUET

Domaine Bousquet is a small, family owned winery whose main objective is to combine the European winemaking style with the climate and terroir of the Uco Valley. During a tour you will walk through the vineyards and go to the winery to learn the steps they take to create such lovely wines. Afterwards you will be able to enjoy a tasting of all three lines of wine. Lovely and enjoyable (also again, with stunning views)!

For more information, visit their website: http://www.domainebousquet.com/

PRO TIP: All three of the wineries described are within a few minutes (driving) of each other. If you are interested in visiting the Uco Valley region of Mendoza, visiting the three of these would make a perfect day!

I hope you found this post informative and interesting! Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Looks like you had a fantastic time, @hannahlaurel ! The winery view is amazing :) Thanks for the travel post. My absolute favorite topic so I'll be sure to follow. I saw your profile info over at @davidpakman and thought to check it out. Glad I did!

Thank you so much! I appreciate it.

Beautiful place in Argentina!

Precisely!

This is cool @hannahlaurel .. andes mountain really offers great tasting wine because of it's altitude. And it's balance climate which makes best for cultivating wine and coffee.. I hope I could visit the place as well someday.. looking forward.. 👌

Thanks so much! I hope you make it there soon. It is a worthwhile trip for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11