Ancient town memory - Hoian, Quang Nam

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Hoian -an ancient town located on the banks of the Thu Bon River is always known as one of the most attractive tourist destinations on the central coast of Vietnam.Just less than an hour by motorbike away from the bustling Danang, Hoian is place that cant be missed.

Hoian is so small that people think spending just half of day here is more than enough, but it is also attractive and adorable enough to make people not want to come and leave in such a hurry. That's why even though I've visited twice, I still wish to be back again and again. With this lovely little town, two times is not enough to really feel all its hidden charm.


IMG_3353.jpeg


IMG_3174.jpeg


IMG_3175.jpeg


IMG_3177.jpeg


d71dac64a1b047ee1ea1.jpg


For me, Hoian is a place that is always surprisingly beautiful and appealing at any given time of a day. Each different time of the day brings special feelings to visitors.

Morning Hoian is peaceful, serene and quiet. When the whole small town seems to still be in a deep sleep, it is the perfect time for taking a bike, cycling through every corners of the ancient town. There are not so many people in the early morning like this, so you will feel like the whole town is yours only. How awesome is it?

From noon to the afternoon, when the typical golden painted walls of the town gets more dazzling in the bright sunshine, and the town starts to bustle, it's time for you to leave your bike, and spend your time to visit the shops and cafes in Hoian. Staying in the wooden balcony of the old-style coffee shops, or sitting on the sidewalk under the dense canopy of bougainvillea, then watching the bustling flow of people on the small streets is also a very Hoian style relaxing type.


IMG_3180.jpeg


IMG_7807.jpeg


When the sun is about to set and the sky is darkening, Hoian turns to be a town of lantern. The streets are more sparkling than ever with countless colorful lanterns, you will definitely want to take lots of photos at this time. The glowing scene of Hoian reminisces about the glorious history of the port town as the busiest trading place of the region in previous centuries.


C63D5E85-3AF5-4289-B325-61CFE1169968.jpeg


Hoian has everything to be so peaceful and nostalgic. There are houses with old-style architecture, ancient golden-painted walls (this color is so unique as if it is for Hoian only), close-tiled roofs, old wooden signs, etc. Everything creates a special image of ancient Hoian in every visitors' memory.


@hanggggbeeee
Photo: @brian


I know that I haven't been here a lot recently. Steemit helped me a lot in the previous time, Steemit gave me things that I should be grateful for. I've seen my blog and realized how intermittent I've been over the recent past. I feel sad seeing people are leaving and feel shameful that I am doing just same. I think now is time for me to show my support for this amazing platform. I'll try my hardest to post every day as before.

Make Steemit great again.

Sort:  

Hi @hanggggbeeee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.815 which ranks you at #4981 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 106 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

yeah, it is pretty dead on steem. not sure what to trade.

Glad you are still here. :))

Worth hanging around the space when super bored 😂

The town's so pretty! Sure love to visit. Are you guys coming to SF in Bangkok?

I have trip to bangkok but on 21-24 Nov. lol.

Yayayay let's meet up Hanngggggg I miss youuuu :D

so do I. lets see if my schedule is not too tight. Business trip, you know. xD. I heard that you organize a meet up in the upcoming SF in your tea shop, right? Wish you a spectacularly successful event!

I don't think it's happening now.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

Did you know that you get larger upvotes when posting through TravelFeed.io?

We are continuously working on improving TravelFeed, recently we introduced post scheduling, automated rewards claiming and EasyLogIn for all.


Learn more about TravelFeed by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Sounds like a wonderful town. As for "small" towns, I actually find them more appealing than big cities.

Whenever I am fortunate enough to find a small town during my travels, I'll often settle down there for as long as possible. I walk thru the neighborhoods, explore the side streets, talk to the locals, and just relax.

Someday, maybe, I'll do that in Hoian.

If I remember correctly, you have been staying in Chiangmai for a while, right? I have never been there, but I heard that it is really nice and peaceful.
If you, someday, decide to settle down somewhere in Vietnam, it may be also the day I'll be able to visit you. :D

Yep, still in Chiang Mai. But Thai visa regulations are changing and becoming stricter, so I'm planning to leave Thailand in April.

Not sure where I'll settle down next. Vietnam is an option, but for Canadians like me, the only Viet tourist visa we can get is for only 1-month. I'll probably go to Indonesia or Malaysia.

If I do get to Vietnam, I'll surely be in touch, and maybe we can arrange to meet. :-)

Why is it nostalgic? Is it because you visit Hoi An as a kid? Does it remind you of Tet? I enjoyed living in Vietnam. I've not been to Hoi An but was in Dalat., Saigon, Hanoi, etc. I like Dalat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70971.37
ETH 3805.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42