Travel With Me - Rock Climbing Adventures in Bishop, CA

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I recently made the trip up to good old Bishop, CA for a little outdoor rock climbing and hiking with my brother, my cousin @ucsdsu, and his girlfriend @mintpaperplane.

For those of you that don't know the California landscape...Bishop is a small little town in Northern California that houses some of the world's best bouldering (no-rope rock climbing).

As a novice rock climber, it's pretty scary.

Trust me when I say I was TERRIFIED when this shot was taken:

2017-12-10-09.57.jpg

We were out there for my brother's birthday. A lot of people say we're twins, to which we give them a glare.

IDK Steemit...what do YOU think? Are we twins?

1.jpg

If you comment below and say YES, be forewarned that I will hunt you down ;)

Bouldering outside is a LOT different than indoors. The difficulty of a bouldering problem goes from V0-V15, with V0 being the easiest.

The thing is...a V0 in a gym is a LOT easier than a V0 outdoors. After all, you're on real rock outdoors!

Here's an example:

2017-12-10 09.33.47 1.jpg

This was a V0 that took me a while to get, but if it was the same rating indoors I would have flown up it!

Needless to say, climbing outdoors is humbling.

Here's a shot of @ucsdsu giving the "Sunshine Boulder" a try - this was the highest route we'd ever tried climbing:

2017-12-10 09.57.22 1.jpg

I highly recommend giving rock climbing a try. If you're someone who likes games like me, think of rock climbing as solving a physical puzzle. That's what attracted me to it in the first place and it's what keeps me climbing to this day!

Before we left, we also hit an frozen over lake and I took this overly dramatic shot:

20171210_125652.jpg

Cheesy, anyone? :P

I'll leave you with a shot of our chalk bag as the sun set on Sunday and we began the long drive home...

2017-12-10 09.27.39 2.jpg

Thanks For Reading!

If this is your first time reading my writing, thank you!

My name is Kevin and I run a website called Epic Gardening, where it is my goal to teach 1,000,000 people how to garden. Now that I've found Steemit, I'm going all in on this community and sharing as much as I can here. You'll find me writing about gardening, business, health, and philosophy - I can't seem to stick to one topic :P

Thanks and happy Steeming,

af.png

Kevin

Sort:  

OK I would say that I would absolutely categorize you as brothers. But no not twins. I myself am an identical twin, with my sister and although I see strong traits not twin material. So no hunting me down. LOL

I'll only hunt you down to go ice fishing! You're on the "nice" list 🤣🤣🤣

One of the best places in the world!

Couldn't agree more! Take me back...😍

I absolutely LOVE Bishop! Which is odd because I really really really hate highball bouldering. However, the climbing community there is so wonderful. It's great to be around so many like-minded people in such a beautiful place! Did you do any sport climbing at Owens River? That's much more my speed :)

Yeah, it's scary right? I don't do any non-bouldering at all (in fact I can't even belay) so didn't check out Owens River! When I learn how to belay I'll go check it out :)

~ Kevin

Hey man, great stuff! Boulder is such a beautiful piece of nature. Climbing there one day is definitely a dream of mine. :-)


Upvoted and resteemed by the @Climbing-Trail!

The @Climbing-Trail is an account dedicated to giving climbing and hiking a platform here on Steemit. It is manually curated by @HaTo.

You can upvote this comment if you like to support the @Climbing-Trail and follow if you want to discover quality content like this on a regular basis!

Thanks for the comment! Definitely make your way to boulder ASAP, highly recommend. Followed your trail, glad to have found the climbing community here!

You're welcome. When looking at the @Climbing-Trail's resteems, I don't know where to go first, there are so many beautiful places to go! ;-)

The climbing community is constantly growing. And I'm happy to be a part of it. Glad I found you! Can't wait for your next adventure! :-)

I'll get out there soon! And you guys will be the first to know 😊

Yeah, outdoor climbing can be VERY humbling^^
Great pictures, love your psyche! Keep going!

Thanks! Definitely gonna keep giving it my best shot 😂

Love the Bishop area. Boulder climbing looks fun, I would love to try it sometime. I'm also into gardening, health and fitness looks like you are a FOLLOW

Back at you my friend! Get out there but go to Happy Boulders 1st - easiest climbing :)

upvoted & followed!

Appreciate it - right back at you! Love your username btw ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50