Virginia City, Nevada - Time Stands Still

in #travel7 years ago

20161115_160129.jpg

I have seen hundreds of western films growing up, not to mention all the old west tv shows... Bonanza, The Rifleman, F-Troop, Rin Tin Tin ...the list goes on. I'm sure many of you are nodding your head right now... yeah...I remember that show.
Well, Virginia City conjures up all those old west, Saturday afternoon TV memories like no place else!

20161115_152728.jpg

Imagine all the boots and spurs that have walked these old boards.

The town still looks much the way it did in the 1860s-70s during the famous Comstock Lode discovery, with extensive mine tunnels weaving under the town to great depths, in order to extract the valuable silver and gold ore from the mountain. One of the saloons I entered even had a mine entrance INSIDE the bar.

20161115_152720.jpg

I proudly wore my boots, clomping along these old streets like a hundred thousand cowboys before me...

The old saloons are still there, just like you always imagined. They even have the upstairs hotel rooms, with the wooden stairs leading up from the boardwalk, as well as inside the saloon. I could imagine the hoards of drunken miners and cowboys, the noises, the smells... the ladies leading them up the ornate staircases to their chambers.

20161115_132131.jpg

20161115_145033.jpg

This is the Queen of the Silver Dollar. Her dress is made with thousands of real silver dollars

20161115_131934.jpg

These horseshoes are hand made from pure silver, by the town blacksmith (1894), as examples of the most unique shoes he made over the years. Beautiful work!

20161114_150851.jpg

20161114_161137.jpg

I have so much more to share, I'm going to have to make this a two part blog post. So stay tuned, dear followers for the second part of Virginia City, Nevada - Time Stands Still, and thank you all so much for your support!

giphy.gif

Special thanks to @aleister for the badass Steemit GIF seen above

Sort:  

I love this old fashion look. Cool town

Yeah, @rangertx, I will be going back to Virginia City again soon. I have to say, it's one of my favorite towns so far because it hasn't really changed in 200 years. Thanks for reading!

Congratulations @gypsydanger! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

i think this is really cool. History and just anything old school like this always gets me going. There was probably gun showdowns there too...good post! following you now, i smoke weed too lol.. :D

Thanks, @rondonson! Yes, there were many gunfights there. Stay tuned for part two... maybe I'll mention that in more detail.

i'd definitely like to hear about some gunfights man, lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.52
ETH 3002.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12