Montana Moment + Hiking to Kootenai Falls : Gringa Travel Series

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Good day to all my Steemian pals!

DSC_0229.jpg

As you know I'm currently in North Idaho staying with some extended family, but yesterday we made the drive over into Montana to visit a beautiful spot, Kootenai Falls.

Kootenai2.jpg

Interesting little note here, it's actually pronounced (Koo-tin-eee), don't ask me why. All I know is it's an indian name much like many of the other names in this area. One of my favorites is Lake Cococlalla in Idaho, and yes it's seriously called that. Tell me that isn't fun to say.

Kootenai 1.jpg

Hiking to the falls isn't that difficult but you definitely want to use caution because it's a raging river, especially this time of year. There are also some fun bridges on the way.

DSC_0073.jpg

We had a little picnic on the rocks near the falls and just enjoyed the day.

Kootenai3.jpg

I can definitely say it's a place I'll want to return to soon!

DSC_0239.jpg
DSC_0010.jpg

Sort:  

Pictures are too great, love to see you enjoying, But I am from India and I definitely don't hear these type of names here, so don't think so they are from around here.

Yeah, it's a native name, pronounced Koot en ee. Thanks for the complment @looftee

Looks like a fantastic place for a hike.

It was great, I highly recommend it @sroka87. Thanks for commenting

REALLY Nice montage - the collage of images are fantastic. Is that you sitting atop the rock?

Anyway, I was just recently thinking of visiting Montana - and saw that Kootenai Falls on my map. So will have to STOP there - but I don't know if I want to climb the foot bridge - did you?

Oh yeah, I did the foot bridge, it was awesome. And yes, that's me atop the rock. thanks for commenting @janashby

What amazing scenery out there @gringalicious! I can see why you'd want to return back and check it out again. Beautiful photos :)

Thanks so much @sandstorm. I may go back again next month

Wow, going all in, in Montana! Enjoy and stay safe out there, looks dangerous in a few spots.

It's only dangerous if you don't take precaution. It was so beautiful! Thanks @sandstorm

By precaution, you mean: drink any wine or beers afterwards and not before hand, Correct? LOL. Just playing! Your welcome @gringalicious :)

I save the beverages of that kind for after dark,... normally

Always a safe maneuver doing it that way. Have a great night! :)

Great post! You are good with heights I see :)

Thanks @throughmyeyes. Yeah, I'm not too afraid of the heights I guess

Kootenai Falls seems a fantastic spot. thank you for sharing :D

Good ya writing. Please guidance, because I am new.

I would love to go there and take pictures.
But early in the morning. Mid day sun is too harsh to take good pictures.

Well, these pics were mid day, actually around 2pm. Thanks for commenting @grey580

I was close.

try for sunrise or sunset. you'll get better lighting. And if you can get lightroom or photoshop. you can download the google nik filters to get even more stunning images.

https://www.google.com/nikcollection/

Thanks for the info @grey580

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62170.06
ETH 2415.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65