Willamette Falls in Oregon City, Oregon

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

I bet you didn't know this is the 2nd most powerful waterfall in the USA, behind Niagra falls.  I stopped by on my way home about 30 min ago.  Had to get a couple pics.  I am no photographer, just my iphone 6s.  

"Welcoming settlers at the end of the Oregon Trail, Willamette Falls was the final destination for many a westward-heading pioneer. Throughout the late 1800s, it was also the heart of thriving industries, providing energy to power lumber, flour, woolen, and paper mills, and a brick-making operation. In 1889, it was the site of the world’s first long-distance electrical power transmission line, from Oregon City to Portland."

Sort:  

The second most powerful waterfall in the United States? Are you sure, it looks so small.

Very nice pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66531.19
ETH 3487.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63