You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Traveling: how we distinguish ourselves obsessively from other tourists

in #travel6 years ago

I think your really focusing on the bad things of tourism.

Ofcourse "Dark tourism" exist, it even has a definition now in dictionaries but to label the whole sprectrum of tourism as a new form of colonialism.. come on man.. there's enough guilt tripping and shaming going on in the world.

If I go on a vacation it's only to be temporarily out of the loop of the working and household routine and not to enslave other cultures.

Sort:  

First and foremost: thank you for reading this post. Although "dark tourism" has been around for a while, it remains a relatively young phenoneem. I have tried to describe that our way of traveling evolves and always takes new forms.

Of course the whole spectrum of tourism is not a new form of colonialism. I did not write this down either. I was mainly referring to "voluntourism" here. Like I said, these people won't nothing but help the local communities, but they often pay a lot of money to be able to do volunteering for two weeks. Money that ends up with marketers who have no idea what the local population really needs. Everything is poured into a business model.

This series of posts makes you think about life, it wants to show things from a different perspective. I can imagine that it sometimes sounds harsh, but I certainly do not always have this intention.

Thank you for replying.

Your probably right about the marketeers that only care about their revenue and have zero affinity with the local people.

I hope this is not the case for the other new trend, maybe the opposite of dark tourism called ecotourism. Which I find interesting and wanting to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68