You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'Zagorje' (Part #179)

in #travel7 years ago

The 3D optical illusion on the table is my best. In fact, I want that chair! The attention to details in old items, houses and furniture always wow me. The craftsmen then pride themselves on their job. Nowadays, it is about profits, the number made in a day, mass production with robots stamping things on items soullessly.

The day I visited my grandparent's friend, who still lived in a storey building he built with wood (no one builds with wood here but right there the man still refuses for the house to be taken down for the modern conventional concrete building). There is this tradition in Africa to offer kola nuts to visitors which is usually eaten with a peanut/ chilli pepper butter. When he brought out the "plate" containing this butter, I wished I had gone to the place with my camera! It was an exquisitely carved piece of art made of wood. Such fine display of ancient tableware which he said was given to him by his grandfather. Making tableware more than 130 years as he was 85 then.

Sort:  

ha! so cool to find out about the things from far places! :) tahnk you! too bad you didn't have your camera! hmmm..i don't think I ever saw kola nuts lol no idea what is this :)

171675300.jpg

Here is a picture, the fruit is rich in caffeine as students chew it to keep awake during night classes :)

It is usually given as gift to visitors as a sign of welcome :)

If I ever go back home, I'd plan to get a picture of that.

This is the only picture I could get online with little resemblance to what I mean

HA! :) Thank you, man! They look really interesting. Almost like sea shells :)

Lol. It sure looks like one come to think of it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43