Highest Natural Point In Western Estonia

in #travel6 years ago

It was 28th May, the weekend when again I didn't feel like staying at home, watching a nice sunny, hot day go by. Instead, I wanted to do something with my life and go somewhere, to see more of our country, more places that I haven't seen yet. Usually, when I don't have anything planned for the weekend, I feel an urgent need to take some trips to go see and photograph new places. On that day it was already getting late for going somewhere far, it was already past 3 PM so my options were kinda limited.

After googling for places in Estonia I finally reached a decision to go and visit the highest point in western Estonia. Actually, there are no natural high places at all in the western part of the country. The highest point is 53 meters above the sea level lol, but I still saw some nice pictures from the internet so it was not a brainer to decide. I wasn't going alone, invited my friend who also sits at home and does nothing useful with his miserable weekend life and pretty soon off we drove.

The destination was not far from my home, exactly 100 kilometers and took almost hour and a half to drive there. After hiking through some forest we finally reached the hill. This is the best view you could see from there.DSC_0033.jpg

Didnt even see above to treetops opposite of us
DSC_0036.jpg

What is cool is that this is actually an old seacoast when the water level was higher. Not sure about the time when there was sea there so I'm not gonna guess some numbers exactly but roughly around the ice age.

photo from the ancient sea floor up the coast
DSC_0030.jpg

Also, there is ski jump tower located on the highest point. When googling about this place I saw that it is possible to climb up there and actually see some higher views, from photographs it looked pretty nice.

Well, the reality was something quite different I originally hoped. I don't know when those photos were shot that I saw BUT THIS FUCKIN TOWER WAS ROTTING. I love danger and daredevil shit but there was no way I'm gonna climb up to this almost nonexistent tower, I really didn't feel like committing suicide. This actually made me really mad because this was the main thing, to climb this god damn tower to get some nice photos.

Have a look yourself
DSC_0034.jpg

Also from the ancient sea floor
DSC_0037.jpg

What made things worse than they already were we had a huge problem with mosquitoes, this was not normal. I don't know whats going on in Estonia this year, but don't visit here, just don't, mosquitos are taking over. Its not that bad in western Estonia but everywhere else I have been in this year's summer, its a disaster.

Would you climb that tower ?


2 more parts are coming of this day what we did and where we went, stay tuned!




Untitled-4.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-18T20:14:57
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 357.90/200.00
Total Photos: 56
Total comments: 23
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=greddyforce
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=highest-natural-point-in-western-estonia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This ski jump tower reminds me Palivere. I was there maybe some 7-9 years ago. This tower was in horrible condition back in then, but some of us still climbed. Now I wouldn't do it anymore as well...

Probably a great choice :D

That tower is no good for climbing. I can imagine the view from the top would be awesome but it could be your last. Defiantly not worth the risk. The mosquitoes are really bad here in Florida this year even with the county spraying for them. There is not just more but the mosquitoes are bigger. I think the rains have made them much worse this year.

That's the strange part. We haven't got almost any rain at all here in many parts in Estonia during the last 1,5 months. Its a drought here, very high forest fire warning is up for a long time now, still, mosquitoes managed to appear in masses :D

Wow that long with no rain. Guess the morning dew and moisture under the leaves is all they need.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64196.23
ETH 2757.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71