Travel memories - the Via Ferrata at 65 years! Why not?

in #travel7 years ago

While traveling, we often want to experiment. 

The company of the locals and experiences are an asset to let us know regional peculiarities. Thus, with friends like Marie-Christine and Denis, I experienced the via ferrata, at Via Ferrata Du Lac de la Rosiere, Courchevel, France, an activity very little known at that time in my country. 

The via ferrata is mountain climbing on rock walls with metallic elements - ladders, ramps, rope or wire. Safety is ensured by attaching hooks to a wire called "hand rails" or "wire of life". 

The equipment is relatively simple: a climbing harness, a line of via ferrata (Y-cable and carabiners), a protective helmet and good rigid shoes. Thus equipped, it only remains to use our energies and overcome our fears, if one has, but the pleasure of climbing is worth it. 

You still have to love the mountain and its challenges!  

To see a video of the trail : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCEaNIhkfog 

Sort:  

Respect. If you keep doing adventurous things like this, there is no age limit. I went to a talk of someone aged 78 (!) who went on a 10-day Arctic trip in Greenland, through constant temperatures between -35 and -40 degrees, sleeping in tents, travelling all day, blizzards, the whole package. Adventure keeps you as young as you want.

Indeed, and health!

I'm a fan! Dad, you are so cool! There is no limits to your curiosity!

I always wanted to try this. Provided it is very safe and I didn't have any that day :D

I like how you put it and some very nice pictures!
Promoted you and this post in my last post.
100% applied here!

Hi there...gosh I am too scared of heights to do this!

Wow! Looks exhilarating :) Love mountains!!
Thanks so much for sharing this with us :)
Upvoted...

Wonderful photos and story. Real deal ,I also want try to do same as you. Looking forward ,cheers

Nice pictures, I'm following you now.

WoW! I can't imagine myself climbing on that BIG rock!

A very interesting and challenging trip @grandpere

Dear Grandpere, what courage you have! I am much young but even I cannot muster enough courage to go up that mountain. Thanks for sharing and telling us that age is not a barrier if your mind and heart is willing. I have a lot to learn from you. Steemit is a great place with people like you to share their experiences. Upvoted and following you.

Not really courage, but the love of the mountain within 100 m

That lake almost looks fake! Such great scenery that really shows off the beauty of nature. Thanks for sharing and glad you had a great time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81