Travel Memories - Gruyère - The Cheese

in #travel7 years ago

Traditionally, Gruyère is an alpine cheese. This means that the cheese is made from cow's milk which grows in the alpine pastures, or on soils 700 m above sea level, transformed on the spot during the summer period, that is to say from May To October. In the autumn, the herds descend from the mountain to be regrouped in the village, it is the transhumance. 

Since the mechanization of crops and milking, better management of herds, cows can produce milk throughout the year. This type of cheese, known as mountain cheese, is made in artisan cheese factories and cooperatives. 

To understand the history of this cheese and its manufacturing methods, it is interesting to walk along the cheese path and finish the route with the demonstration cheese dairy. The trail divides into two easy 2-hour trails each with a 450-meter drop across the farm roads and meadows. 

In Moléson-Village, you can choose to reach the summit of the Moléson at 2002 m by ski lifts, return by the other route, or come back by bus. 


For more informations :

https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ch%C3%A2teau_de_Gruy%C3%A8res
https://www.myswitzerland.com/fr-ca/fromage-d-alpage-plaisir-gastronomique-venu-des-alpes.html  
https://www.lamaisondugruyere.ch/visites-decouvertes/le-sentier-des-fromageries/   

Sort:  

Very nice post. Beautiful photos. I follow you. Feel free to follow me and my posts on travel, photography @pgorzelak

Oh @grandpere I honestly love your posts. Makes me want to travel to go find the cheese...lol!

Great post. I love cheese and will definitely add this area to my travel wishes list for the future. Thank you for bringing the area to my attention. X

Upvoted and RESTEEMED :)

nice place to relax and live ur life =)

Awesome pictures !

@grandpere beautiful landscapes :) I would love to try this cheese :)
If you have a moment please review my beetroot soup recipe that I think may be interesting to you. It’s the best dish in the summertime and it's very healthy :) Cheers!

Nice article sir.. Good pics 👍

beautiful pictures. I was just talking about the cheese.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45