Travel Memories - Gruyère, Switzerland - The Castle

in #travel7 years ago

I made my first great trip at the age of 63 years. It was the first time I flew for a long flight to Europe. I went to visit my daughter who had just obtained an employment contract in Lausanne, Switzerland. She had made me promise to go and see her, which I did. I experienced exceptional moments both in his company and the discovery of places I had always dreamed of discovering. 

Having barely settled for six months, she had had time to visit a large part of Switzerland. She was my guide. She was happy to share her new environment and each day was a new destination for 10 days. For me, being a history teacher and that our origins are European, it was also to see the places, the architectures, the events that fed my courses. In Quebec, our history is recent and there are few buildings more than 100 years old. 

Walk on the ground, visiting buildings that existed more than 500 years before the colonization of the Americas took on special significance. 

In a first series, I will talk about my favorites: Gruyère, its castle, its cheese and the Moléson. 

The castle is located on a hill overlooking the valley.   

Around the castle

 The apartments    

 And before leaving, take a moment to stop and imagine the life that has animated these places for several generations.

For more informations :
https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ch%C3%A2teau_de_Gruy%C3%A8res
https://www.chateau-gruyeres.ch/  

Sort:  

It's great to hear that you got the chance to visit your daughter! I've been to Switzerland many times before and I love it! Its beautiful landscape and history are unbelievably fascinating :) After seeing your great pictures I can't wait to go back, and this time I'll definitely make a trip to that castle!

It's like visiting a post card :)

Switzerland is amazing.

Really stunning.

Did you try the Gruyere cheese???

In the next few days I will post some more mountain hiking stuff to the @traveladdict blog ... not Switzerland but maybe the "Switzerland of Asia" :)

I have known Cheese Gruyère for more than 50 years and I was cheese maker. Tomorrow I will publish an article on the cheese path in Gruyères - Moléson through the alpine meadows.

That sounds amazing!

I really appreciate authentic travel posts like this and I look forward to seeing more of your content in the future.I hope we can connect and continue to evolve and learn from each other (it's never too late to see the world)! Remember, be yourself, because nobody else does it better -- Full #Steem ahead @grandpere :)

Much ❤
@Tayken

Awesome post 😊 great pictures sir.... It's a great joy to travel and see new cultures and people

Wow tout un voyage!!! En plus pour aller voir votre fille, c'est merveilleux! De beaux souvenirs pour longtemps 😊

Hey there! This is beeeeouuuutiful!!! lol

Thanks for your post! Next to Gruyeres, there is Broc with its Cailler Chocolate factory, where you can take a tour around the factory! They are producing amazing chocolate which you also can try on site! I did this a few years ago after visiting the chateau gruyeres!

This is indeed what I missed in my travels. I ate a lot of chocolate but I did not visit factory

Oh man haven't seen anything more beautiful than this ! The land is spectacular.

My friend lives around there. So cool. I'm from the USA.

Switzerland is like heaven on the Earth. So beautiful country

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41