Up & At 'Em - Daytona Beach

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever heard that Florida has the most amazing sunsets? On the East and West coast, I think it's because we're a peninsula.
BUT Daytona also has some pretty phenomenal sunrises, too.
Today, my cousin @hansenator and I got up at 5 AM (2 hours after going to sleep...lol) to make it to Sunsplash Park by 6 AM 😴 - let me tell you, it was hard but, life is a gift, so we have to make the most of every moment.
We brought a blanket and some towels to rest our heads on and waited about 20 minutes for the sun to come up. It was relatively cold and early and people got in our way a few times (so we had to move), but it was worth it. Take a look for yourself.
IMG_5353.JPG

~

IMG_5359.JPG

~

IMG_5357.JPG

~

45B3AAC6-8CD7-4D6C-AECC-9E748B02FE94.jpeg

~

~

We were incredibly tired, so we hit the road and went to Chick Fil A for breakfast, because, lets be real, their breakfast is the best.

4 hours later
We headed back to the beach to hang out and catch some Pokémon. We walked a mile or two and came back to swim. I noticed a purple flag out, indicating dangerous sea life and figured out that our beach was covered with jelly fish. So I was a little bit jumpy in the water lol. I do not like jelly fish. 😬 We got out relatively quickly and planned on going for another walk because Pokémon tentacools are much cooler than real tentacles 🐙, but with a quick look around after a few yards, we realized everyone was in panic mode and then heard the lightning alarm sound, so we headed back. It was really neat to watch the storm roll in though.

~

IMG_5342.JPG

~

IMG_5341.JPG

~

It looked like a pretty scary storm, but I've lived in FL for about 14 years and it barely even rained lol. 🙄
But, I had to go watch my 2 favorite kiddos soon anyways, so we left.
It was a really great day to watch the beauties of Mother Nature.
Hope you enjoy!

P.s. Stay tuned for my first nursing blog tonight at 10:30 PM EST - it'll be about the basics of CPR!

Grace

Sort:  

Very nice photos, Grace.

amazing sunsets!

They're pretty incredible!

Beautiful sunsets and beach.

The pictures are actually about the sunrise 😊 I think I made it a little confusing. I'll try to get a sunset picture tonight and maybe add it in. Thanks though!

Thank you for posting @graceland.

Lovely photographs of the sunrise........Steemians love a trip to the beach. ^_^

Thank you for the virtual tour of such a lovely place.

All the best. Cheers.

Thanks @bleujay, I'm glad you enjoyed it! It's definitely my favorite place to be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52