You gotta ask for the exit row folks!

in #travel6 years ago

Since I am a giant in a little person’s world, I can end up extremely uncomfortable while traveling, especially since I normally do what everyone does and that is to simply purchase whatever flight is cheapest with little regard paid to the reputation of various airlines.

It was about 20 years ago when someone suggested to me that you need to ask for an exit row because the legroom is much much bigger than the regular seats. Today, even with my legs fully stretched out my feet barely went under the seat in front of me. No one in my aisle had to get up to let anyone in or out, and I could barely reach my laptop on the tray table.


source

I am not certain about the airline policy regarding the exit row seats, but nearly every time I have asked to be put in one, there was one available. This was also true on sold out flights so I don’t know what is going on there. Most of our exit row seats had no people in them despite the fact that the flight was nearly full. I guess there are a lot of people out there that don't know about this. Maybe it is better to keep them in the dark so I can always have mine :P

50234841_292393481470117_6901563036474015744_n.jpg

Let’s just say that I have never ended up in an exit row by accident. I think this has something to do with the passengers have to be physically capable of getting the door open in the case of an emergency which brings me to my next benefit of the exit rows: Children are not allowed in them.


source

I am not trying to berate anyone who has kids or anything silly like that but I think we have all experienced the horror that having a 2 or 3 year old somewhat near you on the plane. They don’t make headphones loud enough to drown that high-pitched screamer out. In the exit row, there is going to be at least some space between yourself and the crying machine – this is just an added bonus… mostly it is all about the leg room.

So if you are a super-tall human like me I strongly suggest you try this out on your next flight. You have to ask for it when checking in, and you’ll have to actually speak to a human to make this happen because I haven’t ever seen them offered on the self check-in kiosks.

I had an extremely comfortable first leg of my flight thanks to this. Let’s hope the excellence can continue as I board my international flight from Bangkok to Vientiane in about an hour.

Sort:  

Glad you could relax during your flight.
It makes all the difference and the leg room is probably the most important especially when you are tall.

"I could barely reach my laptop on the tray table"

Wow, so now you have another problem. They change it, but forgot to test it and to calibrate. :)

It doesn't look like a comfort one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting to know that the exit row seat is more spacious in terms of the distance from your leg to the next seat , which to me Mae's it comfortable for seating and relaxing during a flight travel . This is a good clue that I never knew before when travelling , am glad that I am aware of it now @gooddream

Hy @gooddream

Did you know that you have 79392 transactions historically on the Steem blockchain!
You can check and download all your transactions, votes, comments and more with @steemdetective!
Start here steemdetective.com

You are like me then.There is nothing worse when you just don't fit. The exit row is the best seats for me as well and normally a big strong looking guy will get the nod over anyone else. Once you travel on an airline a few times you know the seat numbers and which ones are suitable or bearable.Safe travels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85