The problem with being super-tall in Thailand

in #travel6 years ago

It's not easy being a giant like me. Your entire life people ask you to play basketball even though you don't particularly care for the sport and the bullies are constantly asking you "how the weather is up there" and laughing. It does have its advantages though, I can always reach the stuff on the high shelf and peeking over fences is really easy.

andreskins0312.jpg
source
no, neither one of those guys are me

Being so tall in South East Asia has even greater disadvantages. Since almost all of the locals are much shorter than me the buildings are designed differently so you always gotta be looking out to hit your head, especially when entering bathrooms and showers in cheaper places because the doorframes are almost always manufactured to a certain height and this height wasn't meant to be for me.

Portland3.jpg
source

These situations can all be relearned in order to not hit your head but there is one thing that remains crazy difficult - Getting shoes. I had some sandals recently crap out on me and needed another pair, I really didn't even care what brand or what they looked like because this wasn't a fashion thing.

49195130_761181210905402_9027859181306118144_n.jpg
not one, not even one!

I thought for certain they would have at least a couple of pairs my size... Nope, not one pair, not even one pair. Since they were flip-flops I was even willing to go down a size, maybe 2 even. But NOPE.

48425806_353622555464235_7316901058490400768_n.jpg

I didn't do a complete inventory, but the average size they had was around a US size 8 or 41cm. I prefer a 13 (47cm) but can use a 12 comfortably if it is sandals. At one point I asked if they had "any shoes for adults because I have accidentally wandered into the kid's section" (just kidding, I'm not a rude person, but i was thinking it - i did believe I was in the children's section though.)

The crazy thing about this whole story is that I am not really a giant. I am slightly above average height back in my home country (I'm 6 feet or 180cm or so) but over here, I am a giant. The few times I did play basketball in Thailand I DOMINATED in the paint. I got every rebound. I wasn't much for offense because the kids were like 25 years younger than me but i was friggin Shaq on defense. It is just important to never let your shoes wear out, because there is a good chance that they wont have your size later.

Sort:  

good to be small like flipstar sometimes :-)

and you are not andre the giant??

i get mistaken for him on a regular basis, but nah.. i think he has 2 feet and 300 lbs on me.

It’s time you take a course in shoe making!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am glad that you are not really that tall.
So if you visit another country, like the USA, you will probably buy shoes? Do women like talk men in Thailand? In general women like tall men.

thing is, i am not really even that tall. I wouldn't be the tallest guy in most rooms in the west. I would imagine women like tall men. However they tend to not like men who stay indoors working on a computer all day. I was much more popular when i was a dive instructor :P

I am either 5'11 or 6'.. not sure. My son claims to be 6' and when we stand back to back we are the same. I have no idea. Hehe.

When I lived in Oaxaca Mexico I towered over everyone which was so bizarre since at home I don't feel tall at all. I imagine it is the same for you!

yes. When i return home to the States to visit I am quickly reminded of how not tall I am, especially since most of my male family members including extended family, are taller than me.

Yep I can feel you xD
Last time I visited the family of my gf in bangkok it was the same for me and also it was too crowded and that's a bad combination xD

Posted using Partiko Android

That is actually true if youe hight is more than average guy people think that that he is a sport player specially in basketball game. That think that we are a player lol..

Posted using Partiko Android

i think you will have to try to adapt well to life in their country as it says 'when in Rome do as the Romans do.'

sure, i'll just stop being tall. haha. I'm not asking anyone to change for me. I just have to go to specific stores or more likely shop online.

Lol! How rude of you to be so tall. Not very PC of you.

That's good!online shopping!!!what a brilliant idea:)))))

You are absolutely right. Tall person life is little bit difficult. My causion high is almost 6 feet. But in pakistan woman likes tall man. Great review. Thanks for sharing. @gooddream.

🏆 Hi @gooddream! You have received 0.5 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @gooddream :) | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56681.24
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28