Radost Cafe Chiang Mai: Great for drinks, crap food

in #travel5 years ago

This is quite alright if you are like me because when i go out I am normally doing so with a full belly and just looking for some fun and nightlife anyway. However, since I try to experience everything a place has to offer I can say that for sure, this food here is terrible.

58961770_629367157491311_5771305228179603456_n.jpg

I love the building and the location... as well as the atmosphere. IT is a really wonderful establishment as far as any of this is concerned. Perhaps it is well known within the local community that this place is lots of fun and it certainly is that.

58419933_2207552299322810_632479851831361536_n.jpg

There are lots of places to sit and they have both pool and foosball to keep you entertained. They also have wonderful beer menu as well as wine and cocktails. What they don't have, unfortunately, is food that actually tastes like anything.

58444241_337028667166630_285373222172491776_n.jpg

I should have taken my cue from the fact that when I walked into this place I noticed that no one was eating. I, after all, only came in after a long search down the "backpacker roads" in the north-east corner of the moat area of the downtown part of Chiang Mai. The picture above was featured on the menu as a chicken schnitzel but it is obviously two patties from the local cash and carry with absolutely nothing germany-ey about it. IE: It isn't a schnitzel.

Let's put the food aside for a second and just talk about the establishment: The food was gross but the staff were great (super-friendly and attentive) and the ambiance was just wonderful. Therefore, I am not trying to suggest that people shouldn't come here because they should: It is a wonderful establishment and I will definitely come back in the future.... just..... not to eat.

Location including GPS coords
15/6-7 soi 1 Sri Poom, Sri Poom, อำเภอเมืองเชียงใหม่ Chiang Mai 50200
Open Daily: 9AM to 1AM.

Sort:  

If the drinks are flowing who cares about the food. At least you know what to expect and can't complain if you happen to order food in the future. Sometimes we do when we are a little drunk lol. Looks like a fun place and let the good times roll.

That food looks like it went from the freezer the the micro

The Thais cant normaly good cook western food. I have experienced this several times. Its evrytime a lotto when you try western food in a thai local.

Wow, that is too bad that it didn't have good food because like you said, it does look like a pretty cool/fun place. My wife and I use a lot of onions and garlic when we cook. That leads us to finding a lot of food bland when we go out to eat. It isn't uncommon for us to add pepper to a dish before we even really try it. We just know it is probably going to be lacking for our pallets. That is a pretty weak offering in the picture there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31