Hanoi: Day 2

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

So after getting settled in and having a bunch of drinks with an old friend he decided to be a tour guide of sorts for me and we went to a bunch of stuff. The city (like any huge, heavily populated city) has tons of things to see, but we didn't try to overdo it. We did walk 11km and that was enough for a guy like me.

Our day began at the Hoan Kiem Lake, which I was just delighted to find out had actual sidewalks all the way around it.

34841733_10156352540195883_9160614915323461632_n.jpg

For those of you that saw my "gripes" from day one, this is one of the major problems I have with Hanoi just in a general sense. The streets are packed and there is nowhere to walk without dodging traffic. In that regard the lake was just incredible.

34984187_10156353276295883_3008390141468213248_n.jpg

You have to look closely but there is an island out there and there is a nice fantasy story about a turtle that I don't remember that relates to the small castle there. The entire area is really nice, well maintained, and very clean. It is a nice refuge from the crazy traffic that is very nearby.

We went for lunch in the "Old Quarter" which as the name implies is the older part of the city. Unfortunately, this also means the streets are even more narrow than other parts of the city and of course, for the most part, there are no sidewalks. It is necessary to walk in single-file and be very careful about vehicles approaching from all directions.

34855881_10156352539830883_228070356919779328_n.jpg
I've seen some crazy stuff being transported on bikes in Asia, but this is the first bed

The lunch was great at a burger place called "Chops" and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Later we stopped by the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum during a changing of the guards. It was a very reverent place and the gardens were impeccable. There are a lot of rules here and the tourists are kept in line by soldiers wearing white uniforms that blow whistles at you if you venture into any of the CLEARLY marked off-limits areas (it was not me that did the wandering.)

34729733_10156352539650883_8925795416729976832_n.jpg

In the same area is the presidential palace and i might have enjoyed it a lot more if it weren't for the fact that there was a thousand other tourists in there. I was only able to get one clear shot and it had to be quick. Mostly this was kind of a "meh" attraction because you are not allowed to enter anything but it was extremely cheap (like $1) so in that sense, if you are in the area, go for it.

34811885_10156352539950883_8106437985911701504_n.jpg

After that and just a block away is the Imperial Citadel of Thăng Long. This place costs a whopping $2 to enter and the complex is huge. We are allowed to enter most of the buildings which is fantastic because it is a UNESCO world heritage site. There were some really cool bunkers that were used during various wars in the past century and I really enjoyed being able to enter those.

34780031_10156352539225883_5910626554148290560_n.jpg
34777298_10156352539870883_5853988614257508352_n.jpg
double massive doors with an airlock in-between

I really enjoyed all of these places because for once I had sidewalks... haha, i know i keep returning to that gripe but call me silly... I enjoy being able to walk without fear and getting honked at / run over.

There are tons of other places like this in the city, but simply visiting these three took us many hours and like i said, we walked a bunch. The fact that the entrance to these things are either free or damn near free is a nice added bonus.

Day 2 gets a thumbs up from me :)

Sort:  

wow, I'm Vietnamese but I have not explored all the places you go today, I only went to Uncle Ho's mausoleum since I was 11 years old. You have a misspelling in this sentence, it is Hoan Kiem, not Hoan Kiam.

thanks for the spelling correction. I will fix it now. I think it is quite normal for people to not visit the places that are in their own cities. I live 500 meters from a beach that people pay thousands of dollars to visit and I never go there. haha

haha, i will go there if i am a billionaire.

Someone had an interesting day 2. I can't believe you had the chance to tour in the Imperial Citadel of Thăng Long. The place is freaking cool with military stuff; it has two bunkers that were used by the N. Vietnam war by their leaders. For me I find this very interesting. Deep underground, with air filtering and doors to withstand a nuclear blast. Reminded me a bit of Offutt Air Force Base, or Churchill’s bunker (albeit much smaller). This's an interesting place to understand Vietnam's Imperial past and in addition have a glimpse within the Vietnam War.

yes, i too enjoy those sort of military sites. There was another one that looked far more creepy but it was marked off unfortunately. I wish i had more time to visit more of them but i only got a few days left!

Hi gooddream. You are getting a lot done. Being cheap is a bonus. What are the food prices like?

food is extraordinarily cheap. This is one of the things that really appeals to me about this place.

That is pretty beautiful castle for the president. I have actually transported a bed that is much bigger on a motorcycle.

Not related years ago, while the soldiers were fighting the war, the executive were down those bunkers hiding probably playing cheese

Did you say you walked 11km???? Once i walked 3km and i thought i was gonna die that day.

The city looks beautiful anyways and i guess you guys had a fun time with these pictures i am seeing here. I love walking around and taking pictures as well when i go to a new place.

Wonderful images @gooddream. Thanks for sharing such of you experiences with us. Awesome photographic skills shown in this travel. Your posts are somewhat different from others but very positive and good. Keep up dear.

11 kilometre by walk 🙉 i m sure you would have big muscles...by the way it would be awesome if we have some pictures to enjoy lil bit your journey with you ...Have a great day

That city you have to know how to move in the street apparently

That city you have
To know how to move in the
Street apparently

                 - andream01


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

it seems the city is beautiful
and that lake is one of the best attraction
keep enjoying there you will get to see lot more

a good post his

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97