Day 4 of my first vacation in 3.5 years

in #travellast year

I don't go on vacation very often and this is mostly because of the fact that when you have a dog and you are a super nervous and over-protective owner like I am, you don't want to leave them alone. This combined with Covid lockdowns is why it has been so terribly long since I last traveled anywhere for more than around 18 hours in a row.

This trip takes me back to my old stomping grounds of Thailand, which is where I called home for over a decade. I wish I could say that things have been good and I am loving this travel, but honestly, I would rather be back in my condo with my dog so far.

Yesterday we filled up a taxi and drove to the near-to-Bangkok beach city of Pattaya, and I am not really all that surprised that I am not enjoying myself here either.


image.png

Just look at that! Why wouldn't everyone want to come here to spend their hard-earned money on a beach parking lot for boats. If you enjoy swimming in engine oil and being harassed by vendors selling everything you can imagine this is probably the place for you! I knew that the beach was going to be rather featureless since it is in the gulf area of Thailand but I honestly wasn't expecting it to be this bad. Every 10 steps or so you are harassed by someone selling beach chairs and drinks too, so you can't even walk down the road without this place being annoying as hell.


image.png

Over on the other end of the beach is where all the high rise condos and hotels and I didn't go over there. I can't imagine that it is any different and is probably more of the same.

This place suffered greatly during Covid and this is evident when you walk around. So many places are shut permanently or have only recently reopened. I suppose that is tragic but I can't really understand why anyone would want to come here in the first place. Ok, I take that back, I know exactly why people come here. It isn't why I came here though.


image.png

Even Hooters wasn't able to withstand the lockdowns and not only did they vacate the building but it appears as though it was ransacked as well. I found it strange and interesting when Hooters decided to move into an area that has rampart prostitution and wondered how they would possibly make it seeing as how they charge much higher prices for the same food and drinks that are sold everywhere else.

Getting back to why it is that people would ever come to a place that is this crowded, dirty, and filled with hassles at a rather average beach, here it is: Prostitutes. They are everywhere and it is the only reason why people come here. I think that the government or tourism board would probably try to give the impression that there are other reasons to come here such as golf and family-oriented activities but they need to come off of that lie. It is extremely evident that this is the main if not only purpose of Pattaya. I don't engage in these sorts of things but dear lord, there must be 1000 working girls here in all shapes and sizes.

You'll just have to take my word for it because the security gets seriously upset if you take photos in those areas and plus, I don't look down on people that do that for a living and have no reason or desire to put them on the internet for it. They are just trying to make money and I guess it is unfortunate that this was the best opportunity that they had in life.

If you ever come here, and I strongly advise you not to, you will hear "hello han-sum man!" and "hello welcome, where you go?" every 13 seconds or so basically no matter where it is that you walk.

Just about the only respite I have is when I go back to my room which is something that me and my friends booked "in the dark" so to speak and were simply relying on price and the review score online. I'm always a bit apprehensive about online review scores because these sorts of things are easily manipulated by the owners. We chose something that was just over $20 a night so we didn't get our hopes up that it was going to be the 4-seasons but in the end it actually turned out a lot better than expected.


image.png

That's the view from my balcony and while it isn't going to win any awards any time soon it is actually quite comfortable, clean and quiet. The last attribute is the one that has surprised me the most seeing as how I definitely didn't expect that. I got lucky I guess because my room is not on the street and instead faces the courtyard. Given the fact that every street here is jam packed with cars and motorbikes basically around the clock, I'd imagine having a room on the front of the house is a very different story.

Today we depart out of what I consider to be the armpit of Thailand and head over to Phuket which is a place I actually have experience with. We only came down here for the visa services and honestly, I know that I speak for all 4 members of our group when I say that we are quite excited to get the hell out of here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72