Cloud Forest in Singapore: a fantastic use for $8

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Cloud Forest is just one of the features of "Gardens by the Bay" at Marina Bay in Singapore and in my opinion it is the most stunning part of it as well.

This entire area is pretty amazing. It is a giant nature park that the city / state built sometime in the early 2000's (sorry for not being specific, but it is there currently so does it really matter when they made it?)

dsc_7341.jpg
there will likely be slightly more people there when you go

Anyone who lives in large city can appreciate the peace that a massive park brings to the normally skyscraper-filled atmosphere - just ask anyone in Central Park in NYC.

I think the main reason why i like Cloud Forest so much more than the other features is because Singapore is nearly smack dab on the equator, which means they have 4 seasons: rainy season, dry season, hot season, and melt-your-face-off hot season. I was there during the last one and I was boiling. Nothing an ice-cold beer can't fix. Mention your favorite beer in the comments for upvote :P

The entire facility is meant to simulate tropical environments that are from 1000 to 3000 meters above sea level and it the temperature is very nice inside. The massive man-made waterfalls keep it cool and you absolutely must get there during one of the many "cloud" times (again, this is not the official term, if you are there it will be evident.)
20170815_161136.jpg
nice and cool, thanks technology!

The main featured of the dome is Cloud Mountain, that is covered in real plants and has circular metallic walkways that takes visitors up multiple levels, each with their own theme.

Singapore-Cloud-Forest-2000.jpg

Take your time while you are there and read the signs because some of the plants are actually quite rare.

20170815_155620.jpg
I do not know this lady, sorry but there were a lot of people there

There are also some pretty awesome pieces of hand-crafted art featured in the flowerbeds.
20170815_155033.jpg
who doesn't like dragons?

From the top of the falls there is an observation platform where you can see the famous Marina Bay Sands Hotel in the distance
20170815_160413.jpg
at $800 a night this monstrosity features the world's only 6-star toilets

So the point of the story is: If you find yourself in Singapore with an extra $8 in your pocket. I can't really think of a better use for it than to visit this place.

Sort:  

$8 Bucks? No brainer there. I have my (finally paid off $$$) degree in Horticulture so this is right up my alley. I could spend the entire day at a place like this. If they served my favorite beer, Golden Monkey by Victory Brewery .. and who doesn't like MONKEY'S?? (sorry I like the dragon just not as much (sad eye's inserted here)) [oh yea..and 9.5%ABV Belgian Tripple - can you say my happy place?!] .. I could be persuaded to stay very long time.

https://www.victorybeer.com/beers/golden-monkey/

Within driving distance from my home I can get to Central Park in roughly 2.5hrs or Longwood Gardens in 1hr or this unique place that mixes gardens with sculpture..my favorite.. Grounds for Sculpture. I'll include a picture below.

IMG_2640.JPG

ummmmm. hmmmmm.. did you say 6 star toilet?? I'm intrigued and scared. do I or DooDoo I? blah bahahaha..sorry. ;-}

great response. Do you really have a degree in Horticulture? There is more there than just the one indoor waterfall dome. the entire area is dedicated to having nature in the city and is really something to see. Very nicely done. If you are ever over this way i would say it is a must see.

Yup. I have an Associates in Horticulture and my Bachelors in Agriculture with concentration in Horticulture. Strong background in soil science, organic chem, entomology..Yada yada. I miss college. Met so many interesting people and a few wacko jacko’s. Would love to get there except I’ll have to convince myself I’ll be okay for that long plane ride. Longest I’ve been on a plane was to Hawaii, like 11 or 12 hours. I think it’s something like 21hrs from NYC . Yikes. image image

That's a beautiful scenery, and great piece of well written review too. I just took out $8 and was ready to visit Cloud Forest until I realized I'm in West Africa and not Singapore. But, I certainly will add a visitation to Cloud Forest on my bucket list. Now the beer part, I'm not the drinking type, but I have tried Heineken and I kinda liked it. And did I just see "at $800 dollars a night?"

I know about this one, is a beautiful sight to behold, man how i wish i could go sightseeing out there but i can't, anyway, my favorite beer🍺 would be Star, i don't know if you know about it, am guessing is indigenous to my locality, it is produced by Ghana Breweries Limited, and it is lovely, you should try it anytime you visit Ghana.

well i am going to have to look that beer up. Thanks for the info, pal!

This looks beautiful. I have been to Singapore a few times but it was before the garden was built. I still remember the humidity it was like walking through something solid. I really loved our visits there.

yes. I too like it there but man it is hot. To be fair I live in Thailand and it is too hot here too though. :)

I have never heard of this wonder, it is so beautiful, I would love to know more about it, This morning I saw a video in one of my social networks that spoke of the example of Singapore for the rest of the world, for being a country with so little crime and the best to live, for their actions against the people who did wrong there, the truth be impressed with everything.

Singapore is a very small country, I don't think you could have a marathon there without running around the country a couple times. The thing that surprised me is that most people who live in Singapore, wish they did not live in Singapore. I suppose we are all guilty of that though....

Like me for example: People pay thousands of dollars to come to the place I live and I complain about it all the time. I guess living somewhere is very different from visiting it.

You're right, the truth is that if I would love to go to Singapore, it's that wonder is heard from that country, maybe it's the habit of being there 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, they say that it always attracts what is not known

Singapore is one of the places in Asia I have to visit soon, at first I thought it would be just to see one of my favorite preachers Joseph Prince, I now think i have much more stuff to experience.

The way you have expounded on the various section of "Gardens by the Bay" at Marina Bay in Singapore makes it indeed very appealing.

Did I here you say $8?
SINGAPORE HERE I COME!!

Singapore is amazing

Very good recommendation really that it is a site that causes to visit and especially for those who love green areas.

It's amazing how the engineering is so advanced in Singapore, Marina Bay Sands Hotel I think one of the most famous tourist attraction that country has ..

By the way, my favorite beer is the "regional light" this is a beer made in my country and is the most common that people drink.

Merely looking at the picture, it will be a very nice place to visit.

This is too beautiful for just $8

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60220.70
ETH 2591.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55