Chicago (on Broadway) - I found it disappointing

in #travel6 years ago

I think there are a lot of things that are overpriced in the world. There is a difference between "expensive" and "overpriced" for example: I don't think Macintosh computers are expensive, but if you look at what the actual interior components are compared to a pc, it is in fact "overpriced."

That being said, I think that musicals, especially the ones on Broadway are definitely expensive, but for the most part I find them to be worth the price. That being said, I was a bit disappointed in Chicago as far as this theory goes.

large_Chicago_blog.jpg
source

I saw this 2 years ago while on a visit to NYC. It was my girlfriend's choice as she was a very big fan of the film (which I thought was good also.) We wandered around the city looking for discounted tickets but after a long and arduous search we were coming to the realization that we were going to have to pay near $100 per ticket no matter how we acquired them. I was tired of walking around and really wanted to go to Dave and Busters so I just paid for them.


source

The thing that bothered me about Chicago mainly was the set. The set didn't change for the most part. The band is actually on the stage facing the audience and the actors and singers simply run around them - which was strange. Part of what really appeals to me about Broadway musicals is the extremely high production value and that amount of immense effort that goes into set changes. This was very evident in Phantom of the Opera and especially in Les Miserables - both of which were excellent by the way.

Chicago's focus is the musical numbers and that is kind of obvious, however, I really wanted there to be something more visually appealing about the production and since the set doesn't really change at all throughout the entire show, I was let down by that.


source
you are basically staring at that for 2 hours

So while I would definitely suggest that you shell out the relatively massive expense to see one of these if you are even fortunate enough to be in a city that has these sorts of productions I would say to leave this one alone. You are only going to have time to see one or maybe two while visiting and you may as well go for the creme de la creme - and this simply is not that. I would say to go see really any of the well-known musicals, but just watch Chicago on your 50 inch television at home.

Also, the seats that you can get for 100 bucks at the Ambassador theater (where Chicago is performed) are exceptionally small and uncomfortable - but that might just be because I am a super-tall giant.

Sort:  

As for me I am not a fan of watching any show or performance on theatre because I cannot sit in one boring place to see people perform . And to make things worst is that most performers shows are really very expensive to watch

personally I think that Broadway musicals are some of the best entertainment in the world. I just didn't like Chicago... lots of people do like it though and I can't really understand why.

What a boring and uninteresting event with an expensive ticket fee
Well it was still fun a little bit

Posted using Partiko Android

I can really imagine how boring that would be just to see them for two whole hours and for the person who don't like these types of musical programs, might be a torcher.

Posted using Partiko Android

It looks kind of old people are performing.

Posted using Partiko Android

You assisted on broadway, thats one of my dreams ... this year i played Galileo in " we will rock you Musical "

Hy @gooddream

Did you know that you have 79290 transactions historically on the Steem blockchain!
You can check and download all your transactions, votes, comments and more with @steemdetective!
Start here steemdetective.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64