Black Crab Statue in Krabi: I used to hate it

in #travel6 years ago

When they first built this thing about 6 years ago I facepalmed because i thought it was cartoonish and dumb. However, as the years have gone by I realize that this is likely one of the most popular spots for photos in the entire area and I suppose I should just come off my high horse and accept the fact that I don't know everything.

original_1393138380036.png

It is made out of bronze and weighs as much as a bus and over time it has become a figurehead of sorts as far as Krabi tourism is concerned. If you spend any time around it there will be tour bus after tour bus stopping so that everyone can get a selfie in the claws and while that is generally not how I spend my time, i don't want to rain on anyone else's parade. Like Sheryl Crowe said "if it makes you happy, it can't be that bad."

amazing-sculptures-in.jpg

from this angle you can actually see Khao Kanap Naam, which is those two mountain-type things in the background that have a story hundreds of years old based in folklore and mysticism. This used to be the symbol of Krabi. However, it has been easily out-maneuvered by the whimsical nature of our giant bronze friend and has almost been completely phased out as a symbol of the city. I'm not gonna complain... things change over time... right?

The only problem in my mind is that some people come here thinking that Crab statue = the name of the city Crab-ee (Krabi) and well, that is dead wrong.

Sort:  

Such a neat and exotic place from where I am sitting. I can't help but look at the Khao Kanap Naam in the background and think of the stories and folklore that would be a result of hundreds of hears of ancient people.

Trip advisor has some neat reviews and I am going to search out some of the stories now.

Thanks for sharing another really neat place!

Great place Apart from sharing my 5 days 4 nights itinerary spent in Krabi I present to you my list of things to do in Krabi Thailand There are few famous beaches in Krabi such as Ao Nang Beach Railay Beach and Nopparat Thara Beach Ao Nang beach which is the nearest beach to our stay becoming a great base from which to explore the surrounding region during the 1st day we touched down at Krabi The softwhite sand beaches beautiful sunset view and the longtail boats contribute a picturesque view of Ao Nang beach

such a exotic place and i like to see these kind of place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81