Beer Lab - Chiang Mai: micro-brew-lover's dream come true

in #travel5 years ago

So I don't normally go to these kinds of places because I am aware of the fact that it is going to be considerably more expensive than I am accustomed to paying for booze. I am more of a "whatever lager is cheapest" type guy, but I had a friend visiting who likes this sort of stuff so I figured I would splash out some cash and do something special.

53212792_1054616501413575_7882082904551981056_n.jpg

Beer Lab

The first thing I noticed about this joint is that it was very busy despite the fact that it was 830pm on a Tuesday. I would imagine that it is standing-room-only on the weekends. They have plenty of staff, all of which spoke a great deal of English and were very friendly. I gotta say, the menu was a bit overwhelming for someone who doesn't know what most of these words mean.


This was just one page of it, there was about 14 more. It is extremely impressive to me that they have options aplenty, but for me it was pretty much a random decision. I knew I didn't want port and that was about it. I eventually made my decision because there was an IPA that was made in Scotland and had a cool name.


Brewdog Punk



I have had IPA's in the past and they didn't exactly do it for me because of the strong, lingering aftertaste. I was real happy this was not the case with Brewdog Punk. It had a fruity aroma to it and it was very smooth. I think it might be one of the best brewed beverages I have ever had so I tip my hat to ya Scotland, well done.
Now if it just weren't for the fact that a pint of this stuff costs nearly $10

They had a list of snacks that you could order but it was quite obvious that Beer Lab's primary focus was on having a wide selection of mostly international beers and ciders. When I saw that they had tacos on the menu I had to try them.

53289808_250471089222939_3749444902526648320_n.jpg

The tacos were "meh" because the seasoning on the meat was all wrong and there wasn't near enough meat inside the shell. I give them a thumbs up for trying but I think if you are going to Beer Lab it might be a good idea to go with a full stomach rather than expecting to eat here as well.

Overall impression or tl;dr


Beer Lab is certainly fancier than most other bars in Chiang Mai and their prices are reflected to accommodate that. With just 2 pints and a plate of rather mediocre tacos our bill came to nearly $50 for the two of us. This, for me, is far more money than I like to spend at a bar. However, if having a wide selection of craft beers available is important to you, this might be the best that all of Chiang Mai has to offer. Just expect to pay nearly $10USD for any pint that you order. The staff and the ambiance is done really well here and it seems to attract a very fashionable and upper-class portion of society. You're gonna have to spend some money to hang out here.

location including GPS coords
ตำบล สุเทพ อำเภอเมืองเชียงใหม่ เชียงใหม่ 50200
+66 97 997 4566 (they answer the phone)

Sort:  

Brewdog has a brewery in Columbus, OH. I just did a review of it a couple of weeks ago, you should check it out. It is an awesome place and Punk is probably their most popular beer. They have another one called Elvis Juice that is a grapefruit infused IPA. The brewery even has a hotel built onto it where they have taps in each room with whatever beer you choose. It is awesome. That price is pretty typical for a craft brew even over here in the states now. You are right though, probably not somewhere I would go every week!

Good place. Shame that Beer Republic has gone though. El Patio next too to it too. The owner Chris has left. Chiang Mai changing so much...and rentals in main hub zones are forcing many businesses out (which sadly includes smaller local owned businesses).

Posted using Partiko Android

you clearly know a lot more than I do. I actually only went to Beer Lab because this area was surprisingly devoid of bars. It was my first foray into Nimman and to be honest I don't know if i am in any hurry to get back there but if i do I will have that Scottish pint again!

Eating first is the way to go obviously as you pay top prices for mediocre food. Personally it is fine meeting someone and giving them a treat, but the prices are out of my league and I wouldn't go back in a hurry. The venue looks decent though and i read on someones comment that the rentals are fairly high in the area hence the prices. Nice review though.

Next time I'm in Chiang Mai, I'm going to pay this place a visit. Nice one!

Wow, what a lovely place to visit. Cute photographs.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think this bar was a little bit expensive. Maybe they are targeting foreigners that is why the price is high. I will still stick to Chang Beer. LOL.

Wow! This is like heaven to me! :D

ahh... this is a sick shot... like to see more about this... which camera did you use? greetings from Thailand

urgh... you again?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57174.31
ETH 3071.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40