27 Waterfalls (excursion in Dominican Republic): might be the coolest thing i've ever done

in #travel5 years ago

Have you ever wanted to jump off a waterfall? How about 10 in a row? Well this trip has that beat as you have the chance to jump off of or slide down 27 waterfalls in a row.

punta-cana-cliff-8.jpg

It is located near the north shore of Dominican Republic kind of close to a city called Puerta Plata. Don't worry, it is not difficult to find, I didn't have a data connection and I can't read / speak Spanish and I found it no problemo. IT will likely take you an hour or so to drive or you could just make it easier on yourself and pay for a tour. If you just drive there the way we did it is about $20 a person for entrance, a guide, and lunch.

maxresdefault.jpg

The base camp is at the bottom so we had to hike a bit to get to the top. It wasn't anything crazy or major and sine the D.R. isn't so hot it was actually not that bad. However if you do get too hot just remember that the day is all about being in cold spring water so you are going to be ok.

proxy.duckduckgo.com.jpg

None of the waterfalls are crazy high up in the air but to put you at ease the guides know exactly where it is safe to jump so if you just follow their lead you are not going to "bottom out." Many of the waterfalls you can choose if you want to jump or take the natural "slide" that exists (and before you ask, it is smooth, no injury.)

GOPR7839_02.jpg

So if you find yourself in the north of the Dominican Republic you absolutely must do this excursion. A lot of trips here and anywhere else in the world are overpriced, over-hyped, and totally not worth it. This trip IS WORTH IT. There are not many things in life that I will say should not be missed but this is one of them. It was a truly awesome day that I will never forget. Just incredible.

Sort:  

I liked this so much I brought back my nephew the following year, just so I could do this hike with him. Truly an awesome experience!

oh great! someone else that has been there. Yes, this was recommended to me by a friend and wow was I not disappointed. Just amazing.

Is there a slide near every jump? That place looks cool

only certain ones have slides. As you might be able to imagine some of the "slides" are not slide-worthy and actually have rocks jutting up that could hurt you badly (especially if you are male)... this is why the guides are pretty important. :)

Wao What a wonderful and amazing place.Really this is dream place for me.I really like swimming.Your are so enjoying your travel.All of you looks so beautiful.I really like to jump in the water.Water gives you freshness.Thanks for sharing.@gooddream.

Beautiful, but your crazy. I would just watch you jump. I’ll live vicariously through you. Yikes.

Beautiful turquoise water fall!! Cool place to have a swim and try the slider!! This place is magical with huge rock boulders. Very nice energy.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow
This is proper trip and amazing
Will try to do this one day

Wow! Looks like an awesome place to hangout @gooddream... Hola! Did you take all of those picture... Fantastic... !
Thou i m afraid of heights.. I can close my eyes before jumping... 😅
Hope you have enjoyed a lot.

keep it going....

Posted using Partiko Android

Very interesting for those who love adventures, but I am afraid of beautiful photos heights. Tourism in Dominican Republic

I hope I can go there someday

I don't really know how to swim so I will not even think about jumping at that height. It is really scarcely to me and it will seems as a suicide letter to death to me. I am always afraid to enter a large bodybof water anytime

you have a helmet and a life jacket on... we had 2 guides as well. I'm pretty sure you would be fine :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83