Travel preparations - making a plan and quitting my jobsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

I just did it! I am a free man! I just turned in my letter of resignation and I can tell you, it feels good!!!

I guess many people often have the fantasy to quit there job and to be totally free to do whatever they want.
Well guess what, Suzanne and me had that too. Actually we had this a little bit to often to keep ignoring it. We kept fantasizing about travelling to all those beautiful places around the world.

One day I said to her, after daydreaming away about how awesome this would be, "why don't we just do it?!"

After looking at me like I am crazy, she said; "haha Joker! We can't do that. We have a job. And what about the house? And how are we going to pay for it?"

Eventually we came to realize that the barrier to actually do this, is not our job, our car, our house or our other material stuff that supposedly ties us down. It is about mindset! We bought it once, so we can also sell it. There are places to store the things we want to keep. Our jobs? There are many jobs out there when we return. If we return!

So the only open question was how to pay for it all. We started by making a spreadsheet of our monthly costs and what we would be able to set aside every month. By looking at different forums and other social platforms we were able to find some average spendings per month per country as a traveller. For us this was a really important step, because now we were able to calculate how many months it would take us to save enough money. We were able to set goals and make a sport of it to even overachieve these goals. It took us more than a year, but we never gave up, because we want this with all of our hearts.

To all the people who keep fantasizing about quitting your job to do something your heart desires; DO IT!
Start making a plan, set goals, don't hold yourself down by doing what society sees fit. If you really want something, then go for it.

On the 28th of august we will start our journey in Malaysia. If you want to join us on our adventures please follow us and we'll share you the world through our lens and our stories.

Have a nice day and remember... GoCoconuts ;)

Sort:  

I hope steemit will give you enogh money to continue to travel as long as you want to. A very good post, I look forward to see what you are going to do on your trip.

Thank you @dafro
Have a nice day :)

wow how cool
will definitely follow :)
consider a stop in pattaya/thailand to meet :-) not too far from malaysia ;-)

Thanks @chrisx
Will probably come to thailand, so lets keep in touch :)

would be awesome to meet some steemians

Woah, guys I'm super happy to read this and I'm whishing you the best! This is a big moment and pretty sure you will not regret it
Followed and resteemed ;) Have a nice day too

Great comment @andrupetria
Thank you :)

I am actually sooooo delighted and excited for you, I will look forward to reading about your journeys and travels :-)

Really appreciate it @scottish01

Have a great adventure!

Thank you very much @garden-to-eat :)

wow! thats cool! have fun and I am waiting for your travel experiences at Steemit :-)

@fathin-shihab Thank you :) Will sure share a lot so keep following us :)
Have a nice day

Really happy for you to be breaking these socially accepted constraints and going out to find satisfaction in life. I wish you the best of luck and will continue to follow.

Thank you for your kind comment! :) @eggmeister I keep laughing about this name. It's great haha. Makes me think of the Stiffmeister from American Pie.

You're welcome, I'm glad it put a smile on your face :) I've used the term for few years now with reference to my old flying projects.

Stick to it! it's a great name!

@gococonuts
I want to wish you a wonderful journey and I look forward to your future posts!

Appreciated @breakingtonight Thanks!

Best advice and post ever! I never hold myself from making my dreams come true. Love to travel! I wish you guys good luck!! :)

Thank you for your nice words :) @pointtojoin

best what human can do.TRAVEL :) I follow and Upvote.

We like to believe so too! Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64052.62
ETH 2530.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65