How I Came to Own 100 Things (or Less) as I Became Minimalist Gypsy

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I was traveling out of the country for an extended period of time, when my sub-leaser decided to pull a classic American Psycho on me while he stayed at my perfectly boho-styled furnished home. My landlord eventually kicked him out which meant that all of my precious things had to go too. I had a friend (bless his soul) move me out and put all my of my things in storage. I like to think that the universe arranged for this to happen because I was already headed in that direction anyway. I didn't own a bed as I slept on Moroccan pillows. I didn't have a couch because I used the same pillows to sit on. I also ate on the floor using an antique, brass Persian plate instead of a table. The only furniture I owned was a solid wood book case with a hinged table that flipped down to double as a workspace.

Living out of a luggage then slowly graduating to a backpack for the last six months had me realize the minimum it took to be comfortable. I kept downsizing more of my stuff that I thought were essentials. Did I really need two belt bags, eight pairs of black leggings, and leather boots in Asia? Come on! (But to be fair, I wanted to go to the Himalayas and who knows how cold it can get up there.) Getting rid of my stuff became a slight obsession where I really pushed myself to own 100 things or less. And I discovered that the less stuff I owned, the more liberating it felt. I mean, it's physics--the more bags you drop, the lighter you become.

girl-677576_960_720.jpg

It was fun to enumerate through all of my belongings asking myself for each item, "Can I live without this? Does this have multiple purposes? Does this make me happy?" I think the biggest challenge for me was resisting the urge to collect more handmade jewelry as souvenirs and finding legitimate reasons why I needed to keep certain shamanic items like the pair of wings I cropped off of a dead bird.

To make inventory easier, I made a list of my things. I found this is also useful for when I'm feeling the itch to downsize again (which I feel is soon) and I could just look at some words versus having to actually go through my stuff. I figure this will serve as good training for when I go back home and have to get rid of what is still in storage which is something I'm not looking forward to.

The 100 (or Less) Things I Own:

Technology for Working Remotely

  • MacBook Pro
  • Laptop Sleeve
  • Apple BT Mouse
  • iPhone 7
  • Apple and Standard Earphones
  • Dual Home Charger
  • Charging Cables
  • Euro Plug Converter
  • Car Charger
  • Unlocked Mobile WiFi Modem
  • Power Bank 9000 mAh
  • Lexar USB Dongle
  • BT Speakers

Books and Writing

  • Notebook for Writing Notes
  • Leather Journal
  • Pens x 2
  • 3 Books for Reading

Music and Mystical Items

  • Mayan Oracle Cards
  • Native American Flute
  • Filipino Flute
  • Mexican Ocarina
  • Main Medicine Bag: Copal, Rapé Medicina, Kirupes (Single, Double Barrel, Ceremonial), Lana, Holy Water, Paulo Santo, Lighter, Candles, Charcoal, Incense
  • Various Crystals: Tourmaline, Selenite, Kyanite, Amethyst, Labradorite, Carnelian, Rose Quartz, etc.
  • Obsidian Yoni Egg
  • Feathers: Owl, Swan, Blue Macaw, Rooster Tail, Kingfisher Wings
  • Fox Medicine Bag
  • Leopard Claw Medicine Bag

Toiletries

  • Sunblock
  • Salt Deodorant
  • Zinc Oxide Cream
  • Base Oils: Coconut, Argan
  • Essential Oils: Lavender, Citronella, Tea Tree, Peppermint, Rose, Orange
  • Tooth Brush
  • Charcoal Tooth Powder
  • Digital Thermometer
  • Epilator
  • Ear Pick
  • Silicon Menstrual Cup
  • Reusable Menstrual Pads
  • Makeup: Mascara, Bamboo Travel Brushes, Lip Stain
  • Stork Scissors
  • Nail Clippers
  • Tweezers
  • Black and White Thread & Needle

Tools and Utilities

  • Batangas Knife
  • Mini Screwdriver Set
  • Bamboo Utensil Set w/ Straw
  • Sleep Mask
  • Head Torch
  • Travel Yoga Mat
  • Travel Hammock

Accessories

  • Linen Scarf
  • Wool Scarf
  • Batik Blanket
  • Sarong
  • Wool Hat
  • Sunglasses
  • Batik Sling Bag
  • Leather Belt Bag
  • Dakine 25L Backpack
  • Deuter 60L Backpack
  • Deuter Water Bag
  • Glass Water Bottle
  • Jewelry
  • Turquoise Mala Beads
  • A Bunch of Underwear
  • Socks

Footwear

  • Birkenstocks
  • Nike Running Shoes
  • Mexican Leather Slip Ons
  • Havaianas

Clothes

  • Black Bikini
  • Blue Bikini
  • Brown Bikini Bottom
  • Crochet Bikini Top x 2
  • Shell Bikini Top
  • Black Bikini Top
  • Dark Jean Shorts
  • White Jean Shorts
  • Light Black Shorts
  • Light White Shorts
  • Yoga Shorts
  • Purple Tank Top
  • Black Tank Top
  • Burgundy Tank Top
  • Brown Tank Top
  • Purple Blouse
  • Black Leggings x 3
  • Thai Pants x 2
  • Harem Pants and Shirt
  • Grey Long Dress
  • Green Long Dress
  • Romper x 2
  • Jean Jacket
  • Favorite Flannel Shirt
  • Blue sweater
  • Jedi Hoodie Pullover
  • Free People Shawl



goi-logo.png

Please upvote, resteem, and follow @ghostofisis to support my mystical musings! ♡


hv-banner.png

Sort:  

Amazing! You are a total powerhouse! I can't keep up with you! Upvoted! =) x

I think you might need to start crediting your photos! I will show you how or just look at my posts! =)

They have a Creative Commons license and no need to credit! The ones that aren't though I do.

This is so awesome! Where did you get your obsidian yoni egg?!? I want one!!

I first got mine from Tiffany who runs https://www.yonieggs.com/ She has high quality eggs. The rose quartz energy is unreal. But I didn't bring my entire collection. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77